Hash Brown Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
While looking for something easy and yummy to make for dinner, I came across this recipe - we love to eat breakfast at night!! My only problem was trying to flip the "sandwich" to brown the other side?!?! When writing this review, my husband suggested I give it the "empty plate" award!! He finished off ever last bite and then some!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulia, Texas, USA
Living In: Dumas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
its so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
We just had this for brunch today....used ham and diced pepperoni instead of bacon, served with homemade biscuits and honey and fresh fruit salad. The turning problem was solved by having a second skillet oiled and ready, put it on top and flipped...worked perfectly! I will be making this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Wow, wonderfully delicious. A little hard to turn over in a high sided skillet. But all in all a delicious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
It was delicious! I substituted 4+ cups of frozen shredded potatoes (Purely Potatoes) which made the recipe much easier. I also added red onion and a few dabs of sour cream and, probably more cheese than called for.. As expected, It didn't remain a "sandwich" because the potatoes wouldn't stay together. It didn't matter, though, as it was still yummy. My husband wanted to know what it was called so he could ask for it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
This didn't take any longer than any other breakfast recipe. I even carmelized my bacon and it didn't take any longer. It was a great recipe and my family enjoyed it!! It was a cool twist to the usual quesadillas that I make. In my opinion, Klutz isn't klutzy in the kitchen at all! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Keep it simple: I do this, only I make a hash brown omlet. Same idea, but rather than mess with wax paper, etc., just cook hashbrowns, fill one side and flip top - like an omlet. Quicker and less mess. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I've been making hash brown sandwiches for a while.The only thing I do differently is I bake potatoes in the microwave the night before,let them cool over night, if you don't want the potato skin grated in, cut them in half and grate. the skin protects your fingers from the grater and makes it easier for the kids to help.I fry them in a pan til brown on both sides and use the spatula to quarter the circle .Then put your filling on one side and flip the other side over.You'll have wedges instead of rounds but it cuts out a lot of steps and it's always yummy.I love hash browns so anyway is good for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I've made this several times, not having a recipe! This is the first recipe I've seen for something like this. However, I made it with hash brown patties and sometimes with ham. My inspiration came from a breakfast sandwich at a breakfast/lunch restaurant with the "bread" made out of potato pancakes. I love the convenience of a breakfast sandwich instead of separate portions. I change up the cheese flavors also. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
One Dish cumon now, try three at a minimum. Easy hell no, You need to be a world class magician to pull off two of the tricks to this Fu*^ing puzzle, 1. getting the potatoes off of the wax paper in one piece. 2. flipping the thing if you are lucky enough to pull off trick number one. I haven't even gotten it out of the pan yet and I need another Bloody Mary........... this thing better be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States