Hash Brown Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
This recipe contains everything I would love to eat on occasion. However, the photo of the end result looked so messy, I am sure the cook had as much trouble turning over a plate sized sandwich as I would have. My solution: Make individual "sandwiches" of the same recipe. Handling the smaller version should be neater, easier, and make the cook happier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I have never tried making this as a "sandwich" but I have frequently combined pretty much these exact ingredients as a breakfast skillet. I will usually add onion, mushrooms and green peppers or jalapenos also. Trying to make a sandwich out of it sounds a little too problematic to me. Also I don't boil potatoes for this, whenever I make baked potatoes I usually throw extra ones in. They keep well in the fridge and you can slice them for fried potatoes, peel & dice them for a quick potato hash or even potato salad or you can grate them for hash browns. Left-over baked potatoes are a great thing to keep on hand for a quick, easy meal anytime of the day. There's lots more things you can do with them than I've already mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fred Cannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garrett, Indiana, USA
Living In: Saint Joe, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I baked the whole thing in my round waffle iron and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Do my feeble eyes deceive me? It does not look like hash browns on the bottom, it looks like pie crust. I have trouble fluting my crusts, so I know I couldn't do it to hash browns. The griddle worked easier than a regular skillet. I used the empty plate to turn it into. I like the variations I can make with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
It sounds good, but to call it "breakfast-on-the-go?" I couldn't "go" anywhere until I'd washed the caboodle of pots and pans that it takes to prepare this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Good; variations are many. To Shonda, you could just put it under the broiler for a couple of minutes. If your skillet handle isn't ovenproof, use a couple of sheets of aluminum foil to mold over handle, & it is protected just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
My only complaint was as others said, it was really tricky to turn over and mine broke and we had a yummy casserole instead of a yummy sandwich! Would adding an egg to the potatoes hold them together better and make it flip easier? I don't know but will try it next time and there will be a next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Wow, wonderfully delicious. A little hard to turn over in a high sided skillet. But all in all a delicious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mollie Mary Frances
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This took a while to make, but the end result was very tasty! I did have a hard time getting my hash brown to stay in a nice circle. Next time I make this I might try using frozen hash brown patties to make the process a little quicker too. All in all, I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollie Mary Frances

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Have not made this version, but just had one locally. They used diced bacon and ham, added sour cream and green onions along with the cheese. Decadent and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by auntcandie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Dallas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States