Hash Brown Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
Ok, this recipe gave me the inspiration to make my own version of this recipe. Take the frozen hashbrown patties and make them according to package, fry up an egg per each hash brown. Make the sandwich by placing hash brown on toast, then egg, then bacon, then a cheese slice, then topping with toast. Hubby likes to add ketchup, salt and pepper. This is a manly kind of sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2004
great sunday morning breakfast....used one medium minced yellow onion and browned it in the bacon drippings. before you say "good grief, bacon drippings will give me a heart attack in 3 days", using it once in a while ain't gonna hurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mollie Mary Frances
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This took a while to make, but the end result was very tasty! I did have a hard time getting my hash brown to stay in a nice circle. Next time I make this I might try using frozen hash brown patties to make the process a little quicker too. All in all, I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollie Mary Frances

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Have not made this version, but just had one locally. They used diced bacon and ham, added sour cream and green onions along with the cheese. Decadent and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by auntcandie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Dallas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
While looking for something easy and yummy to make for dinner, I came across this recipe - we love to eat breakfast at night!! My only problem was trying to flip the "sandwich" to brown the other side?!?! When writing this review, my husband suggested I give it the "empty plate" award!! He finished off ever last bite and then some!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulia, Texas, USA
Living In: Dumas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
This took a long time to make and wasn't that great for all the work. I liked the taste, but my husband thought it was a little bland. Probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I have never tried making this as a "sandwich" but I have frequently combined pretty much these exact ingredients as a breakfast skillet. I will usually add onion, mushrooms and green peppers or jalapenos also. Trying to make a sandwich out of it sounds a little too problematic to me. Also I don't boil potatoes for this, whenever I make baked potatoes I usually throw extra ones in. They keep well in the fridge and you can slice them for fried potatoes, peel & dice them for a quick potato hash or even potato salad or you can grate them for hash browns. Left-over baked potatoes are a great thing to keep on hand for a quick, easy meal anytime of the day. There's lots more things you can do with them than I've already mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fred Cannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garrett, Indiana, USA
Living In: Saint Joe, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I baked the whole thing in my round waffle iron and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
My only complaint was as others said, it was really tricky to turn over and mine broke and we had a yummy casserole instead of a yummy sandwich! Would adding an egg to the potatoes hold them together better and make it flip easier? I don't know but will try it next time and there will be a next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
its so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States