Hash Brown Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
I've used this recipe for years for our family Sunday morning breakfasts. The trick to the hashbrowns is to thaw and drain well, then squeeze in a paper towel to remove all the moisture. Add what seasonings you want, press into the pie plate, and bake for about 25 min. or until they start to brown. Then add whatever other toppings you want. I use deep dish pie plates, so I use 5 or 6 eggs. We love ham, green onions, mushrooms and pepper jack cheese. Try this, you will like what you can do with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
379 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
I loved this recipe and got great reviews from the family. I did however add a few things. First I fried the hashbrowns in butter for about 10-15 mins then mixed in some onion and garlic powder along with some pepper then pressed them into the dish. I used 6 eggs and 1 cup of milk. Added 1/4 cup of diced green peppers. I also used 1/4 pound of bacon cut into 1" pieces, remember to fry bacon first! Turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
178 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
Good but I will make a few adjustments next time. Don't think you need 1/3 C. butter so will cut back a bit on that. Also, will add 2 or 3 more eggs as I like my breakfast casseroles more eggy. Cooking time was a little longer than recipe called for; maybe an additional 15 minutes or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
EASY! I made this with homemade hash browns. I grated 2 big potatoes then rinsed them of their starch and squeezed all the excess water out. I made my recipe in a glass 8x8 pan. I used 4 eggs rather than 2 and baked both the crust layer and the egg layer about 5 minutes longer than the recipe calls for. This turned out excellent! This one is going in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winsted, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
This was very good using a few revisions suggested by previous reviewers. I used: 3 cups of thawed hashbrowns and browned them slightly before pressing into pieplate; melted about 2 T. margarine and greased pie plate with a little and then drizzled rest on top of potatoes; took about 20 min.for potatoes to brown in oven and then added the ham/cheese/green onion; used 4 eggs and 1/2 cup milk; baked about 20-25 min and sprinkle little more cheese on top last 5 min. Remember to let quiche sit about 5 min. before slicing. Husband and I both liked this and will make it again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
I tried a couple of quiche recipes on here and this is my fav. I like the hash brown crust but have not gotten it to come out just right or it takes a while to cook. This last time I just cooked tater tots, then mashed them in and around the edges of the pie plate for the crust and it worked great!! It was a thicker and tastier crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lacyloo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henderson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
This is a great idea for when you don't want to or have time to make a traditional quiche crust and also if you like hash browns with eggs! We had ours with spinach (I used a half of a 10 oz. package of frozen spinach, thawed) and sauted mushrooms, instead of ham--a great main dish for Lent! I also followed the suggestion of 2 additional eggs, and baked for a slightly longer time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
Fabulous idea. My husband and I enjoyed this! We thought of ideas to change this to suit our mood...adding peppers, mushroooms and sausage and salsa...for the spanish flare, bacon for the Sunday personel touch. This recipe was wonderful and we look forward to enjoying it again. Quick and easy to make and eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
I liked this, but it's not quite worth 5 stars in my opinion. I thawed out my hash browns, dabbed out some moisture with paper towels, and baked for about 25 minutes in the oven. Meanwhile, I mixed together 1.5 cups of cooked crumbled sausage, sauteed onions & peppers, one small can of diced jalapenos, and a cup of mexican blend cheese. I put it in the "crust" and ended up using 5 eggs with an unmeasured amount of milk. I seasoned it with garlic powder, salt, pepper, and some cayenne, but in the end I felt that it was just a bit. Also, with 5 eggs it took about 40 minutes in the oven instead of 25. I will probably try this one again, but spice it even more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
I loved this recipe. I made it for my dad who can't eat anything with flour in it, so a regular quiche is out. I used about 9 eggs, increased the milk to 1 cup, and put it in a 9x13 dish. I also played with the seasonings a bit. I'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States