Hash Brown Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
A nice base! My bottom hash were a bit mushy even when I baked them 5 minutes longer. I would have liked it crispier and golden brown. Since I had my pancake skillet out already, I gently removed the quiche (cooled enough to handle) and transferred it to the skillet to brown the bottoms. But next time use less butter or bake it way longer. For the toppings, we used bacon, half gruyere half cheddar cheese, and green onions....yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This was great..did use what I had on hand so I changed a few things but the base of this recipe is awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Smyrna Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I just made this recipe and my daughter and I ate the whole thing before the pan even cooled lol. So versatile - I didn't have hashbrowns so I defrosted frozen crinkle-cut french fries and smooshed them with a fork as the crust! Deli lunchmeat ham wored great, easier than dicing expensive ham.....added parsley and garlic powder to the mix - and I used extra sharp cheddar cheese and mozzarella - awesome bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly using the 4th top reviewers suggestions with fresh potatoes. Added 1/4 tsp salt to the eggs. Made 2 quiches for our family but need to make 3 as our family of 7 completely finished off the two quiches in a sitting. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
The flavor is good. My only complaint is that it's missing veg. On the second go around, I added a cup of defrosted spinach with the excess water squeezed out and then doubled the egg and milk quantities. I also used a pinch of nutmeg and eliminated the seasoning salt. I cut the butter quantity in half as well. I used a 9x9 baking dish to accommodate the changes. I would give the adjusted recipe another star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Had to use a dozen eggs and double the remaining ingredients. Baked in a large casserole pan and added dry mustard. Had to use onion powder to sneak it past the kids. Pretty tasty, but I'll definitely use WAY more seasonings next time along with o'brien hashbrowns. Otherwise, it would be way too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I have used this recipe many times, but with a few alterations and additions. I grate my own potatoes for the crust, instead of using store bought and I add 2 or 3 more eggs to make it fluffier. I also add vegetables such as broccoli, and green or red peppers. It's an awesome breakfast or dinner that goes great with garlic toast. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Really enjoyed this dish. I did not thaw the hash browns as others suggested, but it took longer to cook them than stated, about 35 minutes, then I added the remaining ingredients. I also used four eggs; two just didn't seem like enough. This would be good with mushrooms, peppers, etc., very forgiving. So good, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
i must say the apperance of this dish was lacking, but the flavor was great! everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I thought the name on this was really misleading! It tastes like hashbrowns with some ham and cheese on top. I thought 2 eggs didn't seem like very much. I was afraid of it cooking over in my pie pan so I just put in a round cake pan with taller sides and sprayed it well with non-stick cooking spray. For some reason it took twice as long for the hashbrowns to brown and for the final dish to be done doubling the total cooking time. I did use all low-fat dairy products, but I do that all the time. Overall, It is not bad, other than a tad dry, just something more for breakfast. I had made it for dinner expecting some kind of a quiche.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States