Hash Brown Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
This is a really easy, yummy recipe. i highly reccommend. The serving sizes suggested for this recipe are on the large side though. Almost what I would consider a double portion for a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dmilford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This is a classic. The only thing I prefer is using cheddar cheese. I also found the Kashi flake cereal makes a healthier topping - since this dish is so loaded with calories! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Wow. I am amazed at the bad reviews. whenever I've made this everyone loved it. I just opt for the lighter versions of the creamy stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Delicious for a family gathering. I made this for an Easter dinner and everyone loved it. I had 17 guests and doubled the recipe with a couple of changes. And let me tell you there wasn't much left! I read some reviews and followed these tips. I assembled it the night before and baked it first thing in the morning. I brought everything to room temp including the frozen hash browns. Mix the soup, onion, sour cream, pepper, and cheddar thoroughly before adding the hash browns. Used two 30 oz. bags plain frozen hash browns, 4 cans cream of potato soup, One 16 oz. and one 8 oz. sour cream, 1/2 cup chopped onion, 1/2 cup parm cheese, Two 8 oz. bars of sharp cheddar shredded (using most but, saving some for tops of both casseroles). pepper to taste. Greased two glass 9x13 dishes and divided mixture and topped with cheese. Baked both at 350 degrees for approx 1-1/2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
I have been making this recipe since I got it at a potluck when I was 10 years old(my 1st recipe). I add a cup of velveeta with the cheddar and put crushed potato chips on top. I find using 1 can cream of celery and 1 cream of mushroom works alot better than the cream of potato, but that is personal preference. Also to those who say too much sour cream, please remember 1 container of sour cream is 2 cups unless you buy the little one(gave recipe to friend and she made the same mistake thought it meant 2 containers).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MagicallyDelicious
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
These are cheesy delicious comfort food at its best. How can you go wrong with potatoes, cheese, sour cream and more cheese? I am not an onion fan so I left that out, and I used cheese soup to make it extra cheesy. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
This was so easy to make and everybody loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Farmington, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Great! I used cream of mushroom soup (it's what I had in the pantry) and added a jalapeno for a little heat. Excellent. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I like to combine ingredients the night before baking, allowing the potatoes to thaw and flavors to blend. I also double the amount of shredded cheese putting most of the additional cheese on top. I have also added bacon bits, and another time added a can of green chiles......both additions went over well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
This is one of my husband's favourite dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pammi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

How to Fix Gluey Mashed Potatoes

Are your mashers a gluey mess? See quick tips to make them amazing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States