Hash Brown Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
awesomely easy and tasty! I did however substitute 5 real eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
My first ever breakfast casserole! Several folks at work asked for the recipe today! I made some modifications after reading other reviewers mentioning too much potatoes or that it is a little bland in taste. This recipe was doubled to 24 servings, & used 24 ounces of regular eggs. Only half of the recommended hash brown was used. (One 30-ounce Pkg). One 16-ounces of hot ground pork sausage (browned, drained, and fat absorbed with paper towels), diced browned but not burned bacon (8-9 strips), and enough diced baked ham to a total of 2-1/4 cups of meat. Red bell pepper and onions was sauteed lightly before mixing. Used 12-oz of hand-grated gruyere cheese, a package each of shredded sharp cheddar, mozzarella, and some Mexican 3 cheeses to a total of 4-cups of cheese. For additional flavor, 2-Tbsp of finely chopped fresh dill, and 5-Tbsp of finely chopped and well-drained "Del Monte-diced tomatoes with green chilies" was added. Baking time was 90 min or until middle is done using the tooth pick test. Top with a package of shredded mozzarella cheese during the last 8-10 minutes of baking. Bon Appetite :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
This is the my go-to recipe far the morning after a party! It can be altered to be vegetarian, just skip the ham & add more veggies, or extra meaty (with bacon & sausage). I love to make this with biscuits too. My changes are nominal, I bake for a bit longer ~80 - 90 minutes covered and then for the last 5 minutes uncover & add cheese on top, cause you can never have enough cheese! this is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica B Turansky

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This recipe was so quick and easy. I used six eggs instead of the egg product and I used bacon instead of ham and green chili instead of the green pepper and onion. I used this for dinner and then froze the extras for later. It worked out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tara.rogers

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Easy! Filling! And wonderful! I followed this recipe except as others have said I used real eggs(one cup plus one extra egg)..even my picky eaters who don't like green peppers LOVED this dish! Just throw it together and enjoy your self for a hour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Very good dish! I made a couple modifications, I added smoked sausage with artichoke and cheese instead of ham, and topped it with swiss cheese towards the end. So good!!! Very versitile!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
I used real eggs and whole milk. Turned out great! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
My kids came home for the weekend and my sonloved this. My daughter-in-law got this recipe to bake when they went home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
Tried this one on company, and everyone agreed it was "okay" but needed something else. We thought maybe using sausage in place of the ham would help. Also, I think cutting back a little on the potato, as I found it a little dry. Might try again with a few modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
This has quickly become a favorite around here--great taste, very filling, and very cheesy, which hits all the buttons!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States