Hash Brown Casserole for the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Very good! I gave this a 4 only because all of the cheese was a bit overwhelming. Next time I'll either add some meat to it and make it into a main dish or scale back on the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I gave this a three, because everyone in my family that ate this wasnt really impresssed. I gave the recipe and ingredients to my dad to make and I guess he didnt read the part about thawing the potatoes first. They turned out kind of crunchy. We also used the square hashbrowns instead of the string kind. Those would have probably been better. We were also unsure what the recipe meant by shredded processed cheese. We had colby jack shredded cheese on had so we used that. There wasnt much of a sauce for the potatoes. It was kind of a lumpy sour cream mixture stuck to potatoes. It also tasted very greasey, probably from the cheese. Maybe adding a half a cup of milk to the soup to dilute it would help. Will try again with different cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
This is a fantastic recipe. Very sinful and delicious. I recommend not only following the directions but using the right ingredients. It's pretty obnoxious to give a bad review based on your own inability to follow directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
233 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I love this recipe, but I have to omit a few things here. I don't use a slow-cooker, because I find that the "casserole" turns soupy. Instead, I bake it in a non-stick pan at 400 degrees for 45 minutes or longer. Also, I had to experiment with a few cheeses to get the right texture - less grease. What works well for me is sharp cheddar. If you still use butter, try something like I can't believe it's not butter. Less fat, still enjoyable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
This was good and definately very simple. Not outstanding as the flavors are very simple and the texture is a bit gluey. However it still was tasty. The kids especially enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAH_ANNEJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Madison, Iowa, USA
Living In: Burlington, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by G Pendleton
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
This is a classic recipe everyone will love. I make mine a little different. Instead of cream of mushroom, I use cream of chicken and instead of processed cheese I use cheddar. It's a must try that will become a tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
271 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G Pendleton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collinsville, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
This is a great quick casserole, when you don't have time to put together a whole lot of ingredients together.I like it the way it is. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rupert, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
I served this at a potluck...I used fresh shredded potatoes. This was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Great quick receipe, however I made a few changes to make it more healthy,2 whole fresh garlic cloves, 32oz of Orta hashbrowns frozen,1 teaspoon paprika 1/2 cup of 2%milk, instead of the two cans of soup, two 6oz packages of 1. fresh graded cheeder cheese 1 mozzerela, and instead substituted mushroom soup to a homemade substitute: Ingredients: 1 tablespoon butter 3 tablespoons all-purpose flour 1/2 cup low sodium chicken or veg broth 1/2 cup low-fat or fat free milk salt and pepper, 1 stalk of celery or 1/2 cup of fresh mushrooms. It taste which made this dish scrumptous ! Let it sit after 5 hrs of slow cooking, then let if sit out for about an hour to firm up and served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Pretty darn good. Heated up well and tasted great. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States