Hash Brown Casserole for the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I LOVED this recipe. I made it for Christmas and it was nice not to slave over the stove and play with my daughter. The only thing I would add is extra cheese on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Great to free up oven space but my crockpot really dried this out. Next time I'll try adding a cup of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I am on the fence about this recipe. It sounded great...just the warm comfort food I wanted for brunch the next morning. (I prepared it with frozen hashbrowns and let it sit overnight.) I added a TABLESPOON of red pepper flakes and upped the pepper (freshly ground of course) to 1 teaspoon. I sampled it before putting it in the fridge for the night and found it bland--so I added three generous dashes of hot pepper sauce. When I finally tried it the next day after it was cooked I thought it was alright. My husband said it was good but nothing spectacular (like I usually cook, he added, ha ha!) Definitely has potential for breakfast with the addition of crispy bacon and maybe scrambled eggs too (or served along side), added near the end of the cooking time. Perhaps even a side dish with a meaty dinner with some diced red or green peppers. Would have been very boring without the spice additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I have made this for work potlucks and it's always one of the first things to go. As is, the recipe is great, but I did make some changes the last few times - I added some Mrs. Dash seasoning (to taste) to add an extra kick to it and use Cream of Chicken soup instead of Cream of Mushroom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I love this dish. I make it for work potlucks and the slow cooker is cleaned out every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
This was good and very fast and easy to put together, but my crock pot dried it out quite a bit - I wonder what I might be able to add to it to make it moister?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jana Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boone, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
My family loved this recipe and I loved it because everything was done - I did make a couple of changes - I used all fat free stuff and a can of water - I also added 12oz of Turkey/Ham - Will make again for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DestinyKym29

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This was ok. It was very cheesy which is a good thing, but it wasn't much like a casserole. It was just like a very thick soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Pretty darn good. Heated up well and tasted great. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Great quick receipe, however I made a few changes to make it more healthy,2 whole fresh garlic cloves, 32oz of Orta hashbrowns frozen,1 teaspoon paprika 1/2 cup of 2%milk, instead of the two cans of soup, two 6oz packages of 1. fresh graded cheeder cheese 1 mozzerela, and instead substituted mushroom soup to a homemade substitute: Ingredients: 1 tablespoon butter 3 tablespoons all-purpose flour 1/2 cup low sodium chicken or veg broth 1/2 cup low-fat or fat free milk salt and pepper, 1 stalk of celery or 1/2 cup of fresh mushrooms. It taste which made this dish scrumptous ! Let it sit after 5 hrs of slow cooking, then let if sit out for about an hour to firm up and served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States