Hash Brown Casserole for the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Didn't firm up quite like the oven baked version, but still very tasty! I added 1 lb of cooked diced chicken to make it a whole meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This is super simple and delicious. The second time I made it I cooked the onion first since they weren't as done as they should be after crockpot cooking. I also switched to shredded cheddar cheese. Great fix it and leave it side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Love it! Made a meal out of it! My husband didnt even mind that it was meatless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I used broccoli cheese soup. I also only had 1.5 cups sour cream so that was all I used. After reading the reviews about how bland it was, I tasted it when it was halfway cooked and realized I thought it was bland too. I added 1/2 cup white zinfandel, some poultry seasoning, parsley, paprika, and some chicken boullion. That made it more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
This was an excellent recipe except I didn't have the mushroom soup. However, I made a couple of minor changes. I added a 1/2 cup of chicken stock, 1/2 cup of grated carrots, freshly grated potatoes and a little parsley. I think for me the sour cream is key. The next morning I was wondering what to have for breakfast and I decided to use the leftovers to make potato pancakes. Just add 1/2 cup of flour and 1 teaspoon of baking powder per 2 cups of leftovers so they will stick together. Heat up a frying pan with oil in it and drop spoonfuls of the mixure in. Cook until brown and crispy. Blot excess oil with a paper towel. Top with a dollop of sour cream or applesauce. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lyons, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
I doubled this recipe for my kids birthday party, and my family loved it. I had to cook a little longer. I had lots of leftovers, which was great for the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Love it. Took it to a potluck a work and it was completely eaten. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
I love the baked version but wanted to make it in a crock pot for a larger crowd so did the same thing. Since I'm vegetarian, gluten free and like to experiment I made a few changes. I used gluten free cream of mushroom soup. I sauteed up some chopped onions and mushrooms first. I used fat free plain greek yogurt instead of the sour cream - more protein! Then I just mixed it all together. Once I was ready to put it into the crock pot I layered it with crushed potato chips. Lots of great comments about it and a few folks have asked for the recipe. Definitely making it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I ended up making this for a potluck at work. I added cheddar and omitted the onions. Cooked on low for 6 hours created the most yummy brunch item! It was gone in just an hour or so. Definitely a recipe I will be keeping on file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Tasty! Be sure not to overcook....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States