Hash Brown Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Very Good! Used cream of potato soup instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAISIN1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
This FAR exceeded my expectations... I travel for work and make a weeks worth of dinners for my hubby . I already asked him to take this side dish tomorrow ... Can't wait for him to try it... The only change I made is omit butter, 4oz of sour cream and 4 ounces of cheese soup because it's all I had on hand... Topped with shredded cheese and baked at 350 for an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I added a little extra cheese at the end and used Ritz crackers for topping. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I used a 2 lb. bag of fresh hash browns. Worked well and I froze half unbaked without the topping so I could have it a second time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Giannag6
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I made this on Saturday it turned out great but I tweaked a couple of things.. I used cream of mushroom soup and French fried onions on top I also cooked it for 60 min covered then 20 min uncovered then I put more cheese and French fried onions on it and put under the broiler for a couple min.. It was really good the next day as well I put it in a skillet to get it warm a bit crispy and to melt more cheese over it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
OK, I totally screwed up this recipe and it was still great. Half way through I realized someone had eaten my cheddar. Grrr. What I did have was some leftover herbed goat cheese, some goat cheese crumbles and some Mexican blend. Hmmm. Tossed them all in, along with some bacon I'd cooked and crumbled and about a tsp of dijon mustard. 45 minutes into the bake I removed the cover and topped with some French's fried onions and baked another 15. It was completely awesome. Even my son-in-law, who hates creamy dishes, asked for seconds. Bottom line: give it a try even if you don't have everything. It's very forgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I made this today and it got mixed reviews. Some thought it was fantastic and other thought it needed more work and perhaps more time in the oven. I made a double batch and followed tips from past reviewers. I eliminated the butter. I used three cans of soup (mushroom, chicken, and celery), which is what I had on hand. I did not add a topping. I let the potatoes thaw as suggested. I mixed everything last night and baked the casserole today. After over 2 hours it was nowhere near done. I then cranked up the over to 385 and baked another hour. It was brown around the edges, which provided some much needed texture. Some guest felt it still did not seem done. Also, my sons felt it would have been more enjoyable had I used cream of cheddar soup in lieu of the ones I used. I think I agree. Also, I baked it in a round, deep dish instead of a 9x13 pan. The depth may have influenced the cooking time and texture. I need a good potato recipe that will feed a crowd and will continue to work on this until I perfect it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearl Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Very easy! And super tasty! I used onion salt in mine, my family requests this often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
This is a huge hit every time I have made it - both at home or at any function. The first few times I made it, I was not a fan because, as another reviewer mentioned, the potatoes were still rather hard even after 1 hour of baking. Last night I tried pre-cooking the potatoes in a baking pan sprayed with cooking spray for 20 minutes at 350. Then allowing them to cool to room temp. first. Then assembling the casserole. That worked like a charm. I could now give it 5 stars, as I enjoyed it as much as everyone else did!! It's now a permanent dish for all of my pot lucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I've made this numerous times now. I get asked all the time for a copy of this recipe. It's the best. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mztjo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 872) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States