Hash Brown Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
My gobto cheesy potato recipe! Requested by friends and family for all parties! Sometimes I add cubed ham, if I do that I omit the salt. Sometimes I change the topping to crushed rippled potato chips and sometimes I do no topping. It's good any of the ways I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I make this recipe as is and add a roll of cooked breakfast sausage. We love this meal! Have it regularly for dinner, every once in awhile for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I've used cream of cheddar and my family loves it...its even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Dolan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
This recipe is similar to a recipe I got from my Grandma, who got it from an old church recipe book. Original recipe is that you peel and boil potatoes and then just kinda smash them, leaving it chunky. Then, you smash cornflakes up with a soft stick of butter and that is the topping. The onion is sautéed in more butter and is then poured on the mixture of potatoes, sour cream, and cream of chicken. It's sooo yummy!! Now that my grandmother has passed away, this is my signature dish at all holidays. I tried using French fried onions one year and the family said they preferred the butter soaked cornflakes! When the cornflakes are smashed with butter and are in the oven, it just gives it more flavor and a little bit of crunch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
A delicious and quick recipe to make for home when you have company or to take for a social event.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I've beenmaking this for 20 years, except I add 4 oz. of Velveeta in the sauce and use more cornflakes and butter. For the people who say the potatoes are hard, place them in the dish and place in oven while preparing the sauce to make sure they are soft. We make this for every family function.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
no real flavor to speak of. only thing that made it okay was adding french fried onions to the top. 3 stars because it was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
This has always been a popular pitch-in favorite. Recently, I've simplified it even more by subbing Cream of Onion soup for the chicken, omitting the chopped onion all together (as well as the salt...plenty of sodium in the soup). Also have tried substituting Kraft Touch of Philadelphia Triple Cheddar for an even creamier finished product. Everybody likes it, no matter how it's prepared. This one's a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
A solid side dish on a cool day. I agree with many that cream of mushroom probably would be better. All ingredients are easily kept in the pantry (and most are in mine all the time) making this a no-brainer on a busy weeknight. Needs a little more seasoning, I mixed in a tablespoon of Italian herbs before baking and it turned out well. Also, I omitted the butter and it was just fine without the added fat and calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
I will make this again but might skip the cornflakes and use bread crumbs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 869) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States