Hash Brown Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This is comfort food at it's finest. I would absolutely suggest thawing the hash browns first, otherwise you'll have a runny casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Very Good! My tips: use two cans of soup, dice your onions and saute to soften them first(especially if you don't like onion), omit the topping, and cook for about an hour uncovered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by watkinsfamilyof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Big hit! My 17 year old son said these are heaven! Did recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
The whole family liked this. I can't remember for sure, because I didn't put my review in right away after making, but I think I used less butter and I know I used Japanese Panko bread crumbs instead of the corn flakes for topping. I toasted them on the stove with a little butter and spread on top before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMMSEJS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I made this exactly as the recipe is written. It turned out very nice, and was a hit at my dinner party. It is very rich, but that is pretty much why I chose this recipe to begin with. I will probably make a few changes the next time I make this. I will try cutting the butter in half both in the main dish and in the corn flake topping. Also, I want to try adding some dried sage or fresh thyme to this, because I think it would taste really good. Thyme really likes potatoes, and I think that is the route I will take. I used the southern style hash browns, which are small potato cubes rather than the shredded potatoes, mostly because the recipe called for 2 pounds not 1 pound 14 ounces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doc Simonson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Peter, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I used Cream of Celery Soup (yum) and crushed Stove-top Stuffing Mix (Yum). OHHHHHHH, so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
HUGE hit at our recent family outing! I will always use this recipe as my "go to" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
taste better the second day 8/18/13 @ Mom's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Quick, easy, inexpensive meal to serve up when you're not in the mood to a big meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Unfortunately I didn't really like this recipe. It wasn't horrible, it was just very... bland to me. I had a recipe a long time ago when I was younger that they taught us in home ed. I loved that hash brown casserole and from what I could remember the recipes were very similar. Either my taste buds were expecting something this one was missing or they've just grown up to want a more adult taste. Some good points though 1) It makes tons of food and 2) It was cheap! 3) It can be thrown together really fast. So, if you're on a budget like me and need to take something to a potluck this might still be a good option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tararianna

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Odessa, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 815) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States