Hash Brown Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Store bought hash browns didn't turn out well at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulyman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
I cut this recipe in half because there is only 2 of us- I mixed 2 tbsp melted butter, 1/2 can cream of mushroom soup, 1 tsp minced onions, 2 tsp hot sauce, 2 oz sour cream, 1 cup cheddar cheese and black pepper. Mix together first then added to 1 pkg simply potatoes diced with onion. Spread into casserole dish. Topping: mixed 1/2 cup bread crumbs and 1/4 cup broken up French fried onions, tossed with 2 tbsp melted butter and covered casserole. Baked for an hour and was delicious! Other than cutting recipe in half, the only changes/additions were I used minced onion, cut the sour cream, mushroom soup and omitted corn flakes using bread crumbs and fried onion mixture for topping because I didn't have corn flakes on hand. Also added hot sauce for a little kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Same recipe I have been using for years and always popular whether serving with pulled pork or ribs for lunch/dinner or serving at breakfast. If you don't have the corn flakes substitute with broken up Ritz or Townhouse crackers (not Saltines). Also, make sure hash browns are completely thawed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
This is ome of my go-to recipes - especially cor pot-lucks. Easy, adaptable and always delicious! I rarely remember to thhaw the hashbrowns so now put butter, soup, sour cream and chees, onione, s&p on the bottom of a well-sprayed 9x13 pan and pile the frozen hashbrowns on top. I then set my oven to 350 and pop the unstirred mixtuure into the oven to thaw the hashbrwons while the oven heats. My butter is typically hard so this serves to melt it as well. When my oven sounds that it has reached 350, I take the casserole out, stir and put back to cook for 45-60 minutes. Works a charm! Like other reviewers, I don't bother with the topping - I find it unnecessary and another fat addition. I reduce the the 1/2c of butter to justiver 1/4 c and use no-fat sour cream. Ive use all types of cheese in mixture in this casserole but find a sharp cheddar favorite. Cream of chicken, mushroom, celery have all been enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
i too like the cream of mushroom soup instead of the chicken. i follow exact except i like to add crushed potato chips on top instead of cornflakes, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Gregory

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I just made this for the first time and it tastes awesome! I didn't put any cornflakes on top and I used a whole teaspoon of black pepper instead of 1/4 teaspoon. I also let it cook for about 1 hour covered and another 15-20 minutes uncovered. It is perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
We make this all the time but instead of cornflakes we use Cheez it crunched up with butter on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Last year I used an almost identical recipe that my daughter & her boyfriend both disliked, but this year my daughter said if I made it similar to our local grocer's Texas Cheesy Casserole, they would eat it. I was able to get a print out from the grocer's deli and the ingredients were similar to yours, except that I had to use Red Potatoes, dried onion, and leave out the corn flakes which I personally like, but the kids think are awful! Mine took much longer to cook, I think because of the fresh potatoes; after an hour at 350 degrees, we took off the foil, upped it to 375, and it took about another half hour. I think going with the dried onion was a great exchange, much easier than all that fuss and no overpowering onion taste problem like some others reported. I cut back on the butter to 1/3 cup total which I used to coat the inside of the pan then melted the rest and added to the mixture, but when the casserole was finished there was still way too much butter! It was floating on top of the casserole and I took several paper towels and soaked it up after which it was fine. I thought it was a smidgen bland, but the kids (I say kids but the youngest is 20) all loved it and gobbled it down. There were no leftovers:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Great recipie! I used cream of celery soup instead cause that's all I had and used frosted flakes sooo yummy lol for the topping I just drizzled butter over cornflakes no sautéing in a pan I also added bacon and ham I also pan friend one clove of garlic with onions then added to the mixture added extra cheese to the top and broiled it best thing ever :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca Lawrence

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Make this for all family gatherings with a few changes. Instead of Sour Cream, we use Helluva Dip, we add soften cream cheese, use Mushroom soup instead of Chicken, and we sautee the onions with summer sausage or ham, depending on what we have on hand. The recipe changes depending on ingredients. I usually put half of the hash brown mixture in the pan, put a layer of asiago sliced cheese, then top with rest of mixture, then shredded cheese on top. The kids love this, and am requested every holiday to make for the meal, regardless if it is breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kharisa Firth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 877) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States