Hash Brown Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I've made this a few times and always make a few changes. I use tater tots and bake until crispy and golden brown, i use green onion( it's my family's fav) and I use a can of cream of mushroom and roasted garlic as no one in my family cares for cream of chicken, also add lots of freshly cracked black pepper. It's a family fav especially for the holidays :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I used cream of mushroom soup instead - very yummy! I also browned the onions a bit for more flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
my family and I did not care for this. and we have never not liked a casserole with a creamy soup and sour cream mixture! this was far too greasy – the amount butter needs to be cut down quite a bit. plenty of oils are released by the melted cheese. it was swimming in butter when it was done! also, the potatoes just did not taste right – they had an “uncooked” taste even though I let them thaw completely and cooked the casserole for a full hour rather than the suggested 40 minutes. perhaps this would be better if the hash browns were browned first. and the corn flake topping was chewy rather than crispy. I will look for another recipe…
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I thought this was great. I made it as written for a Spring brunch and everyone loved it. Some of the other reviews are probably right that you don't need as much butter and don't need to saute the corn flakes but I didn't want to mess with it on the first try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
So good. Tastes just like the hash brown casserole I get at Disney at the Beach Club Marketplace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Perfect side dish for just about any protein, but, I served with grilled "Unbelievable Chicken" from this site. I made as the recipe stated, but, only used 1/4 cup instead of 1/2 cup butter in the potatoes. I also used green onions instead of regular onions and we like the flavor and texture much better than a similar casserole I had made in the past. Based on other reviews I cooked a little longer - about 50 minutes and the potatoes were perfectly cooked. Big hit with the family! My niece packed up all the leftovers to take back to college with her for her dorm - that is winner in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Me and my family were not big fans of this recipe. It took way longer to cook than stated and just didn't taste good enough to be worth the enormous amount of calories and fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
This turned out great.Most of my kids loved it and it was so simple to make.I wouldn't change anything about this recipe.It's delicious just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I made this recipe tonight, as I have never made hash-brown casserole in the oven before (have always used a crock-pot) I didn't want to wait the up to 4hrs it can take to finish cooking in a slow cooker. The dish itself was good, but made changes to fit my taste buds. First I reduced the amount of butter to 1/4 a cup instead of 1/2, reason for this was to compensate for the oils that would be produced by the cheese melting as well as the fact I had browned some turkey bacon and was compensating for potential drippings. Even with the reduction the dish was still fairly greasy, I also sauteed the onion with the bacon. I would suggest reducing butter content more if you feel like greasiness is an issue. Secondly I did not use cornflakes I had some sandwhich bread which I took a knife and scrapped it against the grain producing bread crumbs, I then browned them in a little butter until' crisp and used that as a topping instead this was a lighter and I feel tastier alteration. Overall the recipe was good all-be-it greasy, but a contender for a "remake" if I feel that craving again but don't want to wait for a slow-cooker version
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
In general, it tasted good, but it was way too greasy. I would use very little butter or none at all to try it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 821) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States