Hash Brown Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
I love this recipe but I cook it 1 hour covered and 1/2 hour uncovered. Also I crumble ritz crackers and mix with butter and cover the top. This is my favorite topping! I also add sauteed onions. Today I also added chives since they were in the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
Good recipe! I substitute the corn flakes with ritz crackers or another buttery type cracker. I also omit the mushrooms since my family does not care for them and I use the cream of chicken soup. If you want to add some kick to it, throw in a can of drained rotel tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashley
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Easy to make and everyone enjoyed it. A winner in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
Used Tater Tots instead. Worked great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian Krause

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
I cut the recipe down A LOT and it was still AMAZING! The bag of hash browns I purchased was only 1 lb, the recipe calls for two but its only me and my two children (8 & 3 yrs old) so that was way too much. I used 1/2 a lb of hash browns, no butter at all - so i'd say its not necessary. Also i didn't have Corn Flakes on hand. I chopped onions very small, browned a pound of ground beef, added salt & pepper, 1/2 can of Cream of Chicken, about 4 tbsp of sour cream, and 1 cup of cheese. Mixed it all in a bowl, placed in dish, topped with more cheese (I love cheese!) , covered and baked for exactly 40min, then baked an extra 5 min uncovered! You can do so much with this recipe!!! Kids loved it as well as a guest I had over!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
This is, hands down, one of my family's favorite recipes. It has become part of our Sunday brunch routine. The flavors work so well together, and it is extremely filling. The only changes that I have made to it are that I brown a pound of sausage, and I put the onion in with the sausage to soften it up. Instead of using cream of chicken soup, I use cream of mushroom. Because my family loves the crunchy topping, I also crush one more cup of cornflakes. This increases the 1/4 cup of melted butter to 3/8 of a cup or 6 tablespoons. Sometimes, I also like to put some French fried onions on top too. It's just delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I doubled all ingredients plus noted changes: used one cream of mush and one cream of chicken, used 1/2 yogurt with 1/2 sour cream, added 5 pieces of bacon crumbled and used 2 bags of southwestern style hash browns. Like others I added a little cheese to top, cooked it for 30 min covered then uncovered and topped with fried onions cooking 15+ mins more. I took it to a bbq. I've never received so many compliments on a dish before. It was fab!! Added note: leftovers topped with overeasy eggs the next day is the bomb :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ENOXALLEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
Good but it was way too much butter. I'll use only a little butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
More sour / tangy than other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Store bought hash browns didn't turn out well at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulyman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 876) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States