Hash Brown Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
We make this recipe at just about every get together. The chicken soup gives it the perfect flavor. I like the sausage idea; we like cooked & crumbled bacon added to ours :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Vlahovic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Love this. Only changes I made were to use cream of mushroom soup and for topping I used crushed cheese crackers, makes richer, as if it need be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
My kids flipped for this potato dish! I used non-fat sour cream with good results, but it's still an indulgence based on the overall calorie count. I skipped the cornflakes, but made sure the potatoes were pressed down well so the pieces on top would not dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Just made this for Thanksgiving and everyone said it was the best cheesy potato recipe they ever tasted. As suggested by the other reviewers, I did reduce the butter to 1/4 cup and made sure the hash browns were thawed. For the topping,I just melted butter in the microwave, stirred it into the corn flakes, and then sprinkled them over the top. I baked it covered with foil for about 45 minutes and then baked uncovered until the top and edges were brown. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Everyone loved it. Followed the recipe. Did sauté the onions prior to mixing those into the recipe. That was the only change. It was wonderful, everyone (7) commented on how good it was. This is now a permanent holiday casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I loved it. The family agreed it could use a little less sour cream. It did make great left over for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Markle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Subsituted dried crispy onions for corn flakes on top last 10 minutes of baking and for cheese I used chipotle pepper jack. The crowd left no morsels behind!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This is always a crowd pleaser and is a great side dish to go along with a BBQ tri tip. I add diced green chiles to mine for an added kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Benicia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
I never review recipes but this one deserves 5 stars - everyone at my brunch raved about it. I subbed the French fried onions for the cornflakes, and subbed cream of mushroom for the soup. I used shredded sharp cheddar. It was really tasty - definitely will make again for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
SOOO EASY! I love to find a recipe that I can quickly throw together after work. I did make a couple of changes only because I used what I had on hand. I used 1.5 cups SHARP cheddar cheese and 3/4 cup Parmesan cheese. And instead of using salt/pepper, I used a generous amount of Mrs. Dash Original. And I did not add the corn flake topping. It was absolutely delicious. Both my husband and daughter asked for more, which is unusual for them. My husband has even requested this instead of mashed potatoes for Thanksgiving. I do recommend making a double batch if you have a hungry family. The hash browns shrink quite a bit as they cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 846) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States