Hash Brown Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
OK, I totally screwed up this recipe and it was still great. Half way through I realized someone had eaten my cheddar. Grrr. What I did have was some leftover herbed goat cheese, some goat cheese crumbles and some Mexican blend. Hmmm. Tossed them all in, along with some bacon I'd cooked and crumbled and about a tsp of dijon mustard. 45 minutes into the bake I removed the cover and topped with some French's fried onions and baked another 15. It was completely awesome. Even my son-in-law, who hates creamy dishes, asked for seconds. Bottom line: give it a try even if you don't have everything. It's very forgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I made this today and it got mixed reviews. Some thought it was fantastic and other thought it needed more work and perhaps more time in the oven. I made a double batch and followed tips from past reviewers. I eliminated the butter. I used three cans of soup (mushroom, chicken, and celery), which is what I had on hand. I did not add a topping. I let the potatoes thaw as suggested. I mixed everything last night and baked the casserole today. After over 2 hours it was nowhere near done. I then cranked up the over to 385 and baked another hour. It was brown around the edges, which provided some much needed texture. Some guest felt it still did not seem done. Also, my sons felt it would have been more enjoyable had I used cream of cheddar soup in lieu of the ones I used. I think I agree. Also, I baked it in a round, deep dish instead of a 9x13 pan. The depth may have influenced the cooking time and texture. I need a good potato recipe that will feed a crowd and will continue to work on this until I perfect it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearl Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Very easy! And super tasty! I used onion salt in mine, my family requests this often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
This is a huge hit every time I have made it - both at home or at any function. The first few times I made it, I was not a fan because, as another reviewer mentioned, the potatoes were still rather hard even after 1 hour of baking. Last night I tried pre-cooking the potatoes in a baking pan sprayed with cooking spray for 20 minutes at 350. Then allowing them to cool to room temp. first. Then assembling the casserole. That worked like a charm. I could now give it 5 stars, as I enjoyed it as much as everyone else did!! It's now a permanent dish for all of my pot lucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I've made this numerous times now. I get asked all the time for a copy of this recipe. It's the best. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mztjo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This was really good. Nice change from regular hashbrowns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I love this recipe. I have made changes I use Mrs.Dash (garlic and herb) seasoning. And I use either mushroom soup or cream of chicken what. Ever I have on hand. My family likes it extra Cheesy plus I use 2 bags of hash browns. I have been making this recipe for over 10 years and now have pasted it down to my daughter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
everyone liked it at brunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Loved it! Will add garlic, onion, peppers and sub more cheddar for parm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Really good. We doubled recipe for family get together; mading two 9x13 glass casserole pans. Followed recipe as written. Used half medium Cheddar and half sharp Cheddar cheeses. Increased cooking time to 30 minutes covered, then spun pans & uncovered for additional 30 minutes. Wasn't sure about the cornflakes, but they turned out good. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 867) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States