Hash Brown Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Made this for dinner today to accompany baked ham and Brussels sprouts. The only thing I changed was I used cream of potato soup instead of cream of chicken and I used 2 cans of soup, (seemed a little too dry with one can of soup). In place of corn flakes I used French fried onions on top straight out of the pkg. no sauteing in butter. Better than my old recipe and I think the 1/2 cup of melted butter added to the mix makes the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by figgy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
This is a great recipe. My husband doesn't like to crunch into onions so I used minced dried onions so we still got the flavor. I also agree with others that you could cut back on the butter in the casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I love this recipe. It reminds me of the potatoes served at the breakfast buffets in WDW. I tried making them in the slow cooker yesterday. I put it on low for about 6-7 hours. They came out gre!t. I plan on doing this Christmas morning so the oven can be used for other foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
This is almost the same recipe that my mother made me as a child. (she omitted the butter and it turned out fine) I have fine tuned this recipe and have made some improvements. If you don't like the cereal on top you can use cornbread stuffing instead. It adds a LOT of flavor! Plus you can also make this in a crock pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
This is so good! My kids and husband loved it! I followed the recipe except for the topping. I didn't have cornflakes so I used panko crumbs in melted butter. It was good with and without any topping. I just may make this for thanksgiving as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I have been making variations of this recipe for the last 25 years. I could tell from reading the ingredients in this one that it would be too dry (as many reviews mentioned). The casserole should be moist when put in the oven. If this amount of potatoes are used, there should be two cans of cream of chicken or mushroom soup - or, include milk in the recipe (approximately the same amount as the second can of soup). I have never used regular onions in this recipe, but if they are used, certainly they need to be sauteed first so they cook thoroughly. I have always used green onions, both the whites and green stems, chopped very finely (4-5 green onions). They don't need to be sauteed if the whites are chopped finely and they provide a great savory flavor to the dish. I also always use fresh garlic - perhaps 2 medium to large cloves chopped very fine. I used fresh ground pepper too. These changes give it more flavor rather than just loading up on the fat content and having it be a very rich dish. It will never be a healthy dish, but adding more sour cream and butter is not the answer to getting more flavor. I frequently cut the sour cream back and replace it with low-fat, small-curd creamy cottage cheese or ricotta cheese. You won't know it's in there. Lots of crushed cornflakes are critical for the top (about 2 cups or even more, plus some butter drizzled over the top). Bake with the top off all the way through - they will be crispy and they make the dish. Don't replace!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
My family grew up with this recipe. We call them sinfull potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Photo by arich01
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Delicious! I subbed cheddar cheese soup for the cream of chicken but that was the only change made. The whole family LOVED this and I dont think the leftovers will last long! I served with roast beef and veggies, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arich01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Great recipe for a crowd pleaser. I'm vegetarian, and used Cream of Onion soup and added garlic instead of onions. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia4c
Home Town: Manistee, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shannonferger
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Such an indulgent treat to have cheesy hash-brown casserole. My family loves this recipe but we only have it around the holidays. I made this recipe as is with the exception of subbing the Rosemary Saltine crackers for corn flakes. You definitely need a crunchy topping to break up the richness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannonferger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 815) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States