Hash Brown Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Great casserole. I've made it many times and rarely do I use all the butter it calls for. I know this isn't good for you, but a stick and half of butter is a bit much even for me! Most of the time I use cream of mushroom soup, add a bit of garlic and skip the cornflake crust. Instead I reserve about 1/2 cup of cheese and put it on top. Other than that I make it as is and it's wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I substituted cream of celery to make it vegetarian. Also used hash browns that already included onions to avoid that step. Very good but too much butter. Next time I’ll omit adding melted butter to the main mixture as it’s greasy enough with all the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rianna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Playa Del Rey, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
This was SUPER delicious! I loved every single bite and definately could not say NO to seconds! I recommend this to everyone and I cannot wait to cook it for my friends and family!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by src8784

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This was delicious made only slight changes so I still think it deserves a 5 star rating. Icompleted skipped the butter that is mixed with the potatoes but added about 1/4 cup more low fat sour cream instaed. Used 1 cup corn flakes and 1 cup fried onions. Cooked 40 minutes covered and 10-15 uncovered. Got RAVE reviews from everyone at Easter brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
good side item for tennis
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I made this for a Easter family dinner today. I doubled the entire recipe. I also used cream of mushroom instead and used 5 cans (instead of 2). I also added a half block of velvita cheese, it was kind of bland so i added seasoning salt along with the regular salt. For the topping, I used Italian bread crumbs. This was a huge hit and my dish was gone before everything else. Several people asked for the recipe! If you bake it at 380º for 50 minutes it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Heaven!I didn't have time to thaw the hashbrowns, so instead I put a couple Tbs oil in a large frying pan, threw in the hashbrown and browned them. Then instead of melting the butter, I just threw it in and it melted with the potatoes, stirred in cream of mushroom (instead of chix), and the remaining ingredients. Popped in oven in covered dish for 30 mins, then uncovered and added the rest of the cheese and the cornflakes for another 15 mins. I tasted it before serving to my family and one taste turned into 7 before I finally could break away from it! Served with Ham steak, Hollandaise sauce covered asparagus, and Hot fudge sundaes. (It was "H" night this week. Gotta start looking for "I" foods now!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey Buglione

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
You can definately reduce the amount of butter to 1/4cup or less. I also covered it for 45 min and then added panko bread crumbs (without the added butter) and baked for another 15min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Excellent recipe! The only changes I make are to use cream of mushroom soup instead of cream of chicken and I add more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I made this with some substitutions, and its our new favorite! I baked the hashbrowns in a 350* oven until browned on the bottom 1st, then used 1/2 garlic alfredo sauce 1/2 heavy cream in lieu of the soup & sour cream. I also added 1c bacon, & 2 chicken breasts, cubed. For the topping I used a combination of panko, french-fried onions, and crushed salt & pepper kettle chips. Its amazing. Yum yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 887) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States