Hash Brown Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
We all loved this recipe! Made a double batch; used half the butter, panko instead of cornflakes and onion/chives sour cream! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther Kaiser

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This is a good base recipe. I make a variation of this periodically, usually for holidays. My family just called to ask for the recipe, so I forwarded the link. I usually substitute cream of mushroom for the cream of chicken, and I like to throw in sliced mushrooms and ground sausage to make it a hearty breakfast meal, more than a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I didn't put the topping on, but so cheesy good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Having made this countless times, I can tell you that this recipe is definitely open to variations and substitions based on your preferences and what you happen to have on hand. IMHO, 2 cups of cheese isn't enough, so I double it, generally using a combo of cheddar & jack or colby, or even parmesan. Instead of the cream of chicken, sometimes I'll sub out cheddar cheese soup, which is my favorite. I also like to sautee my onions and add a small can of diced chilies. That's a flavor combo I LOVE! The cornflake topping is classic (no need to sautee the flakes; simply melt the butter in a saucepan, add the cornflakes, stir, and add to the top of the casserole). French fried onions are great as well; I set my oven to broil and add them 2-3 minutes before done baking. Over the years, I've added sauteed green (or red) peppers as well. I've also used this as a breakfast casserole and added some maple breakfast sausage. The add-ins/possibilities are endless! Use whatever you like - holds up well to changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This was given a thumbs up by the family. I did cut the butter down to 1/3 cup and omitted the butter and cornflakes topping. Everyone agreed that this was a keeper. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mama Mia's Cakes
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This is very good. I use cream of mushroom than cream of chicken, because I just do not like cream of chicken. I also sauteed the onions first before adding it to the dish. I did add a 1 lb of brown breakfast sausage to it this morning to make this a breakfast dish. It's a hit with my friends and family. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Mia's Cakes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huber Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Easy and hearty. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This was just "okay." I used the cubed hash browns and even after an hour and 10 minutes they were still kind of hard. I thought the sour cream flavor overwhelmed the cheese, and even after cutting the amount of butter in half, it was very oily. If I make this again I'll cut the sour cream in half, omit the butter and use shredded hash browns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
We all love this, but I usually do not add the topping (corn flakes). I think it's better without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetemmy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
My family loves this dish. I use 1/2 sour cream with 1/2 French onion dip. But this recipe is published on the package of hash browns that I buy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 815) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States