Hash Brown Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Great recipe for a crowd pleaser. I'm vegetarian, and used Cream of Onion soup and added garlic instead of onions. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia4c
Home Town: Manistee, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shannonferger
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Such an indulgent treat to have cheesy hash-brown casserole. My family loves this recipe but we only have it around the holidays. I made this recipe as is with the exception of subbing the Rosemary Saltine crackers for corn flakes. You definitely need a crunchy topping to break up the richness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannonferger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
I had originally rated this as one star and then not explained my rating. I have no idea how this got rated and I apologize to the poster as I have no idea how that even got rated by me. I have tried this recipe and it is very good. It makes a lot and I have to agree with another posted that I don't use cornflakes as I never have any. I have used the French fried onion rings on top and that makes this recipe even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mema

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Glens Falls, New York, USA
Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This is comfort food at it's finest. I would absolutely suggest thawing the hash browns first, otherwise you'll have a runny casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Very Good! My tips: use two cans of soup, dice your onions and saute to soften them first(especially if you don't like onion), omit the topping, and cook for about an hour uncovered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by watkinsfamilyof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Big hit! My 17 year old son said these are heaven! Did recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
The whole family liked this. I can't remember for sure, because I didn't put my review in right away after making, but I think I used less butter and I know I used Japanese Panko bread crumbs instead of the corn flakes for topping. I toasted them on the stove with a little butter and spread on top before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMMSEJS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I made this exactly as the recipe is written. It turned out very nice, and was a hit at my dinner party. It is very rich, but that is pretty much why I chose this recipe to begin with. I will probably make a few changes the next time I make this. I will try cutting the butter in half both in the main dish and in the corn flake topping. Also, I want to try adding some dried sage or fresh thyme to this, because I think it would taste really good. Thyme really likes potatoes, and I think that is the route I will take. I used the southern style hash browns, which are small potato cubes rather than the shredded potatoes, mostly because the recipe called for 2 pounds not 1 pound 14 ounces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doc Simonson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Peter, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I used Cream of Celery Soup (yum) and crushed Stove-top Stuffing Mix (Yum). OHHHHHHH, so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
HUGE hit at our recent family outing! I will always use this recipe as my "go to" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 868) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States