Hash Brown Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
This has always been a popular pitch-in favorite. Recently, I've simplified it even more by subbing Cream of Onion soup for the chicken, omitting the chopped onion all together (as well as the salt...plenty of sodium in the soup). Also have tried substituting Kraft Touch of Philadelphia Triple Cheddar for an even creamier finished product. Everybody likes it, no matter how it's prepared. This one's a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
A solid side dish on a cool day. I agree with many that cream of mushroom probably would be better. All ingredients are easily kept in the pantry (and most are in mine all the time) making this a no-brainer on a busy weeknight. Needs a little more seasoning, I mixed in a tablespoon of Italian herbs before baking and it turned out well. Also, I omitted the butter and it was just fine without the added fat and calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
I will make this again but might skip the cornflakes and use bread crumbs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I like the flavor of the sauce, but not the texture of frozen potatoes, so now I make this with fresh potatoes sliced very thinly so I don't have to change the baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I've made this quite a lot with some changes.....No butter at all. I brown 4 cut up rashers of bacon and pour most of the bacon grease in. I don't care for onions much so I don't use them unless it's french-fried onion on the top. I add garlic to the soup mix before I blend it in. Also cook for a full hour so it's done in the middle. Always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Butler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I've eaten this recipe many times but this is the first time I made it myself. This recipes makes a ton of casserole. It made 2 full baking pans so I was eating it all week but it's very yummy. I substituted cream of mushroom, left out the onion and used bran flakes. The bran flakes (what I had in the house) made it look a little weird but tasted the same. It's really easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I use no butter or topping and it is great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I needed something a man could cook in a short time for Mother's Day breakfast at our church. This was something that most people could never mess up if they follow the recipe. I ended up doubling the recipe for our church gathering and using Texas Cut hash browns along with adding a pound of breakfast sausage it came out great! My second time, for Father's Day, I am trying it again but without the corn flakes and I am using French Fried Onions instead, as I read on someone else's rating, and I increased the breakfast sausage to be doubled along with everything else. I get a feeling that this is going to become a staple on our church outings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Collicott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
To cut out some of the calories/fat I substitute the 1/2 cup butter with a 1/2 of vegetable broth. Keeps it moist and I can't tell the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
My husband and son loved this dish! Very easy to make & doesn't take long to cook. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 821) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States