Hash Brown Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I like the flavor of the sauce, but not the texture of frozen potatoes, so now I make this with fresh potatoes sliced very thinly so I don't have to change the baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I've made this quite a lot with some changes.....No butter at all. I brown 4 cut up rashers of bacon and pour most of the bacon grease in. I don't care for onions much so I don't use them unless it's french-fried onion on the top. I add garlic to the soup mix before I blend it in. Also cook for a full hour so it's done in the middle. Always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Butler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I've eaten this recipe many times but this is the first time I made it myself. This recipes makes a ton of casserole. It made 2 full baking pans so I was eating it all week but it's very yummy. I substituted cream of mushroom, left out the onion and used bran flakes. The bran flakes (what I had in the house) made it look a little weird but tasted the same. It's really easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I use no butter or topping and it is great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I needed something a man could cook in a short time for Mother's Day breakfast at our church. This was something that most people could never mess up if they follow the recipe. I ended up doubling the recipe for our church gathering and using Texas Cut hash browns along with adding a pound of breakfast sausage it came out great! My second time, for Father's Day, I am trying it again but without the corn flakes and I am using French Fried Onions instead, as I read on someone else's rating, and I increased the breakfast sausage to be doubled along with everything else. I get a feeling that this is going to become a staple on our church outings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Collicott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
To cut out some of the calories/fat I substitute the 1/2 cup butter with a 1/2 of vegetable broth. Keeps it moist and I can't tell the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
My husband and son loved this dish! Very easy to make & doesn't take long to cook. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I've made this a few times and always make a few changes. I use tater tots and bake until crispy and golden brown, i use green onion( it's my family's fav) and I use a can of cream of mushroom and roasted garlic as no one in my family cares for cream of chicken, also add lots of freshly cracked black pepper. It's a family fav especially for the holidays :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I used cream of mushroom soup instead - very yummy! I also browned the onions a bit for more flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
my family and I did not care for this. and we have never not liked a casserole with a creamy soup and sour cream mixture! this was far too greasy – the amount butter needs to be cut down quite a bit. plenty of oils are released by the melted cheese. it was swimming in butter when it was done! also, the potatoes just did not taste right – they had an “uncooked” taste even though I let them thaw completely and cooked the casserole for a full hour rather than the suggested 40 minutes. perhaps this would be better if the hash browns were browned first. and the corn flake topping was chewy rather than crispy. I will look for another recipe…
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 818) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States