Hash Brown Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
Yummy with a few changes. I used green pepper instead of onion, cream of celery instead of cream of (chicken?), halved the butter and added some cream cheese. No need for a topping, just sprinkle some cheese on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Zink

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
This is usually a Holiday only recipe, but my Mom and Nephew like it so well that it has become part of our family. We didn't change a thing. And we make this often as our comfort food!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2015
Sooo good! I used cream of mushroom instead of chicken, added about a 1/4 of a sweet red pepper (finely chopped), and increased the black pepper to 1/2 tsp. It definitely needs a full hour to cook; I did 45 min covered, then uncovered for the remaining 15 minutes. I wasn't sure if I should use the shredded or cubed hash browns; I went with the cubed, which was perfect. I think adding some cubed ham would make this a good breakfast casserole
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2015
Our homeschool class used this recipe to do fractions. The 10-year-old read the reviews and decided not to put butter in the cornflakes. He wrote his review and I agreed: "I didn't like the casserole, but my family gave it five stars." He didn't like the taste and neither did I. We used CHUNK potatoes that were not frozen. That was the mistake, I thought. He said, "If I were going to change something, I would put less butter in and more soup."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2015
I used the old way by topping the casserole with Kellogg's Corn Flake Crumbs, & pouring over a stick of melted margarine / butter. They've been difficult to find in the past, but recently Walmart has finally started carrying them. I top all of my casseroles in this manner. I ALWAYS USE CREAM OF CHICKEN SOUP in this, or ANY other casserole in place of Mushroom. It makes all th difference in the world. This is NOT just a "breakfast casserole" - it's good with virtually any meat, at any meal / time of the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2015
Awesome side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bexley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
The original version is good. However, I prefer the suggestions others have made. I use cream of mushroom soup instead of cream of chicken and I omitted the cornflakes. Not a fan of cornflakes on my hash browns. Instead I sprinkle shredded Parmesan on top. I personally made the following substitutions and additions. I used a pkg of pizza shredded cheese; it is mozzarella, cheddar, Parmesan and cream cheese. I used Obrien shredded hash browns; it comes already thawed, and with onions, green and red bell peppers already in it. I omit the salt. And I add breakfast meat, usually bacon, sausage and diced ham; or one of the three depending on what I have available. Sometimes I add red pepper flakes or diced jalapeños if I want it spicy and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEELEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2015
Really good i had no cornflakes so topped it with frenchs crispy onions that made it even tastier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Landini

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
I boil my own potatoes, and mix the cheese with the corn flakes, dry, and sprinkle on top. I would not mix corn flakes with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
I've been making this casserole for years, and it has become a family favorite. I whisk together the melted butter, soup, and sour cream and then add to the potatoes, cheese, and onions. However, my recipe calls for less melted butter (3/4 stick melted margarine/butter) in the casserole and crushed potato chips on top instead of corn flakes. I use the Healthy Request cream of chicken soup to reduce fat and sodium and reduced fat sour cream (NOT fat free) to lighten it a bit. You do not miss the extra fat grams or salt because the cheese offsets that. Instead of chopped onion, I use 5-6 chopped green onions. I mix half the cheese into the casserole and reserve the other half for topping the casserole towards the end of the baking time and placing the crushed chips on top of the cheese. My recipe calls for baking at 350 degrees for 50 minutes and then topping with the remaining cheese and crushed chips and baking for 10 minutes more so that the topping doesn't get burned. This is a great side to serve with ham, and the leftovers are delicious alongside eggs for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 888) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States