Hash Brown Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
I love this recipe. Have been making it for years with just a few changes. First, I leave the butter out. I always found there to be enough fat in the cheese. Plus, I use cream of chicken soup rather than cream of celery and don't add the hot sauce. I agree with a previous reviewer and only add the cracker crumbs the last 5-10 minutes of cooking. I have never had anything but rave reviews for this casserole and I even will eat left overs by themself for lunch the next day. A must for any BBQ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
For several years, I've been taking THIS version of the popular recipe to every event. Everyone always raves about these and says they're the best they've ever had. They're creamier and more flavorful because of the additional can of soup. Don't be afraid of the hot sauce - it doesn't make the potatoes spicy, it just punches up the flavor. If you are hesitant, just use less. There are a lot of hash brown casserole recipes out there, but THIS is the one to use!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim*designer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
I used this recipe to replace a hashbrown casserole recipe that I had lost, and I prefer this one. I used the Bob Evans brand hashbrown and I thought that added extra spice which was good. I also added some paprika for color and spice. I used one can cream of chicken and one can cream of celery. Although these took a while, they came out really tasty, I made them ahead of time and they heated up well. The only other change I would make is to add more cheese, cut in half the amount of crackers for the topping bc I thought there was too much topping, and cut the bake time w. the topping back to 20 minutes. Thank heavens I checked mine 20 mins in or I would've had a burnt ritz cracker crust. A nice Sunday side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
This was a great starter recipe. I’m no morning person, so night before or not I don’t fuss with breakfast stuff much. But hash browns are, after all, just potatoes and I think a grand foundation for a supper casserole as well. I used 1 can cream of celery and 1 can cream of mushroom. I had a little cheddar, but I also threw in some Mexican blend cheese and a good dose of Velveeta cubed. I also made this to use up leftover ham, about 2 cups cubed. I tossed in about 1 ½ cups of frozen green peas for more color and a supper green veggie. I used 2 Tbsp. Franks hot sauce ‘cause I love the stuff, mainly because it’s hot but not too firey hot. Because it was supper I skipped the cracker topping and used the ultimate (but pricey) king of all casserole toppings, French fried onion rings. Generously dot with butter and it’s divine. Not low cal but delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
SO SO SO GOOD! I used one can cream of celery and one can cream of potato, like another user suggested, and the O'Brien potatoes. I will definitely be making this again! One suggestion- Wherever I add pepper, I tend to also add salt. Don't do this! The two soups make the dish salty enough-- it doesn't need any extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
I love this casserole! My mom used to make it all the time and I loved it! My mom also used to put ham in it sometimes for a main dish and the recipe she had, didn't have any tabasco sauce in it. I'm happy I found the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
I love this recipe!! I make it every year for our office Christmas party and I alway get requests for the recipe. Last time I used crushed potato chips for the topping, and sometimes I add diced ham to make it a main dish. *Laura*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waldwick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
I enjoy this one every year. It's a little on the creamy side, I could probably cut down on the sour cream or cream soups, however the flavor is wonderful. My family enjoys this one along with scrambled eggs and bacon on Christmas morning. Easy to make ahead and just put in the oven when you're ready to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
This is a great, easy recipe. We altered a few things (didn't use cracker topping or add the hot sauce, and used spinach dip instead of sour cream)- it still turned out great! Will definetly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2003
this was really good and easy to make. i mixed things together in a bowl before baking as suggested,left out hot sauce,added 2oz jar of pimentos for color,doubled the pepper,added 2t.salt and substituted 1 can cream of chicken soup(what i had on hand). like being able to do that with recipes and still have them taste good! it was a hit...planned on having some leftovers for tomorrow... minimal leftovers...so much for my plans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States