Hash Brown Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2004
This is so easy, and it turned out great! I substituted onion powder for the chopped onions (hubby doesn't like the texture of them), and crushed up some italian-seasoned croutons as a substitute for the crackers. I also added 1.5lb. lean ground beef (pre-cooked). Big hit - no leftovers! This one goes in my recipie book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
Great, this can be cut in half for if your eating it for dinner, makes enough for an army!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2004
Great recipe that's easy to make and with ingredients I usually have on hand. The only change I made was to omit the hot pepper sauce for the children's sake but did sprinkle a little on top my own serving. I found the cooking times to be correct if put in the size baking dish called for. The crumbs on top might get too brown if you cook it in the top half of your oven so take a peek after 15-20 minutes. It even could be mixed up the night before then baked in the morning. Add a stack of pancakes and some crisp bacon strips and you've got a meal fit for overnight guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2003
Today I cooked this delightfully rich dish for 7 painters at our church. I thought there would be leftovers - they ate the whole dish. I added frozen Italian beans to this dish, otherwise I went strictly by the ingredients. Thank you Diane!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2003
this was really good and easy to make. i mixed things together in a bowl before baking as suggested,left out hot sauce,added 2oz jar of pimentos for color,doubled the pepper,added 2t.salt and substituted 1 can cream of chicken soup(what i had on hand). like being able to do that with recipes and still have them taste good! it was a hit...planned on having some leftovers for tomorrow... minimal leftovers...so much for my plans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
I love this recipe. Have been making it for years with just a few changes. First, I leave the butter out. I always found there to be enough fat in the cheese. Plus, I use cream of chicken soup rather than cream of celery and don't add the hot sauce. I agree with a previous reviewer and only add the cracker crumbs the last 5-10 minutes of cooking. I have never had anything but rave reviews for this casserole and I even will eat left overs by themself for lunch the next day. A must for any BBQ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
I love this recipe!! I make it every year for our office Christmas party and I alway get requests for the recipe. Last time I used crushed potato chips for the topping, and sometimes I add diced ham to make it a main dish. *Laura*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waldwick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
Very easy and tasty. I have given out this recipe dozens of times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2002
This is easy and great tasting. I ate it in 3 meals by myself. YUMMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2002
Super easy, makes alot and is a real crowd pleaser every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States