Hash Brown Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
I'm not much on potatoes but I thought this was great! I made 50 servings for my son's football team and they loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fincastle, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
For several years, I've been taking THIS version of the popular recipe to every event. Everyone always raves about these and says they're the best they've ever had. They're creamier and more flavorful because of the additional can of soup. Don't be afraid of the hot sauce - it doesn't make the potatoes spicy, it just punches up the flavor. If you are hesitant, just use less. There are a lot of hash brown casserole recipes out there, but THIS is the one to use!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim*designer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
I did not care for this recipe as much as others on here. I miss my regular recipe which calls for melted butter and more shredded cheese. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
I did everything like I was supposed to, except I added a diced ham slice to it. It seemed to be lacking something or maybe just too mushy...not sure which. Sorry Diane, I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
Turned out great! I used cream of chicken soup instead of the celery, and it worked great. I also added a couple minced garlic cloves just for a little bite. Loved it! Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
I just made this as an accompaniment to a ham dinner and everyone raved! Delicious and easy, but not low fat. I used diced hash brown potatoes and substituted cream of chicken soup for cream of celery. This is delicious and tastes you like you slaved away in the kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
This was a great starter recipe. I’m no morning person, so night before or not I don’t fuss with breakfast stuff much. But hash browns are, after all, just potatoes and I think a grand foundation for a supper casserole as well. I used 1 can cream of celery and 1 can cream of mushroom. I had a little cheddar, but I also threw in some Mexican blend cheese and a good dose of Velveeta cubed. I also made this to use up leftover ham, about 2 cups cubed. I tossed in about 1 ½ cups of frozen green peas for more color and a supper green veggie. I used 2 Tbsp. Franks hot sauce ‘cause I love the stuff, mainly because it’s hot but not too firey hot. Because it was supper I skipped the cracker topping and used the ultimate (but pricey) king of all casserole toppings, French fried onion rings. Generously dot with butter and it’s divine. Not low cal but delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
I enjoy this one every year. It's a little on the creamy side, I could probably cut down on the sour cream or cream soups, however the flavor is wonderful. My family enjoys this one along with scrambled eggs and bacon on Christmas morning. Easy to make ahead and just put in the oven when you're ready to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
I put a little bit too much butter in this one and the result was a bit greasy. Flavor was good though. I didn't have enough sour cream so I halved with some cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
I used cream of chicken, and didn't used the crackers on top, and it was delicious! My kids even liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEHIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hahnville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States