Hash Brown Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
This recipe is ok, but I feel it has too much sour cream. Neither my husband nor I cared for the sour cream taste. If I make this again, I'll decrease the sour cream to 1/2 pint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by undiluted_one

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I made this for Fathers Day breakfast and it passed the test with flying colors. I used the "southern" style hashbrowns and put my own twist on it knowing what my husband and adult sons would like. I used only one can of cream of celery soup, added one can of cream of mushroom, 1 can of sliced mushrooms, 1 tsp. red pepper flakes, 1 large chopped jalapeno and 2 cloves of minced garlic. I omited the butter and just put a sprinkle of crushed Ritz crackers on top to brown the last 15 minutes. Leftovers were even better today at lunch! Thanks for a new family favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pmj

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
Very disappointed. It looked and smelled geat but tasted horrible. I brought it to a cook-out, everyone said it was good but "different". Less than half was eaten from a crowd of 16. The hot sauce was over-powering and it was not nearly cheesy enough. I followed the directions exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
i omitted the onion and hot pepper sauce, added minced onion, pamrsean and herb seasoning and used cream of mushroom soup. this turned out pretty good, i think i used too much sour cream( i never measure, lol) but i would make this again. my bf LOVED all the cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mistycolleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New London, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I would give this five stars but hubby and my mother didn't think it was as good as I did. I only used one can of cream of celery and didn't use any crackers on top, I sprinkled cheese instead. I have to say it was even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Very good!! I usually make a different hash brown casserole recipe, but this one was great. The hot sauce gave it a new kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess Dork

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I loved this dish. I used cream of broccoli soup,added hamburger and green beans, layerd, baked and had a complete meal. Served with bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merpenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This was a tasty recipe. Someone below mentioned cutting the butter out of the recipe, so I assumed it was actually in the potatoes. Looking at the recipe again, I realized that the butter is for the cracker topping - not to go in the casserole. I may have been the only dummy that thought this, but thought I would pass on the info. Also, I tried to make this a little healthier with fat-free cream of celery soup, lite sour cream, and 2% cheese. It tasted just like all the other hashbrown casseroles I have had, so why not save yourself a few calories?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I make this every year for Easter, however last year I didn't have potato chips or the "buttery" crackers for the top. Since I make mine with SHARP cheddar cheese. I used up the "cheesy square crackers" crushed and I will do it from now on. Oh and I use one can of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
I had half a bag of hash browns doing nothing in the freezer, and thought I'd try this recipe just to use them up. Hash browns aren't my thing, and Husband isn't overly keen on them either, but we thought this wasn't bad at all. I used a little more cheese, and also added some garlic powder. Pretty decent. Thanks, Diane!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States