Hash Brown Casserole I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
This is a good recipe! I just make a change to the topping. The french fried onions in the can are great to add. It doesn't matter when, at the beginning of baking or at the end!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I too, used only one can of condensed soup (celery) because I didn't read the recipe correctly and only had the one can. I doubled the cheese, and it came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I just love this. So good and comforting. I used shredded hash browns, and by mistake used double the amount of cheddar (medium) because I halved the recipe and didn't change that, but loved it with that much cheese. Also used corn flakes instead of buttery crackers and don't melt the butter and cornflakes together, just dribble the butter over the whole thing. Great consistency, not too dry or moist, just right. Definitely the hot sauce is a plus, you can't taste it as itself so don't worry. I use Frank's Red Hot Sauce. My sister has a version of this using Cream of Onion soup, but we don't have that here, and I really like the Celery Soup in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
This is a really good and easy basic recipe. I cut it in half and put it in an 8 by 8 in. pan. I also used bread crumbs on top instead of the crackers; I just mixed the crumbs with melted butter and sprinkled on top. I also used cream of mushroom soup--I imagine you could use "cream of any kind" of soup. This recipe could be dressed up to include bits of ham and/or chicken, mushrooms, peppers, or other vegetables. No need to thaw the hash browns before using them. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that it really cried out for some salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I made this for Fathers day brunch, and hubby LOVED it! I didn't have any sour cream, but it was still great. He's already requested it for Christmas morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Served this for Easter breakfast. Everyone liked it. I used Ritz crackers instead of the buttery round crackers. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Great recipe, the hot sauce really adds to the flavor! I was short on time so I baked it for 50 minutes at 350 and then another 20 minutes at 400. Turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
My husband LOVES this dish, and its so simple! I follow the recipe almost exactly, though I use cream of chicken with the celery for more flavor. I sub the hot sauce with the green jalopeno sauce. DELICIOUS, without the burn!! I find it unnecessary to defrost the hashbrowns, I usually forget anyway. I've made this many times, thinking about making this dish with Potato O'Brien. DO try this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Great Lakes, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I changed a few things about this recipe to make it a full meal. I browned some lean hamburger meat, with a half bag of birdseye pepper stir fry(tri color peppers and onions)followed the rest of the recipe except the topping, I used french fried onions, added the last 10 minutes of cooking! It was terrific and actually made enough for two meals, we ate Friday night, then had the rest for lunch on Saturday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JettnTX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
This recipe is ok, but I feel it has too much sour cream. Neither my husband nor I cared for the sour cream taste. If I make this again, I'll decrease the sour cream to 1/2 pint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by undiluted_one

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Hash Brown Casserole II

This creamy potato casserole with a crispy crust is great for brunch or dinner.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States