Hasenpfeffer (Rabbit Stew) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Our favourite rabbit recipe to date. It's also very forgiving and flexible, as others have stated. We used lard and some smoke flavour in place of bacon (we had none), doubled the onions and tripled the garlic (we love those flavours), and homemade mixed berry jam in place of the currant (again, we had none). We served it on mashed potatoes and grilled dill and lemon carrots on the side. This meal pleased all of my picky toddlers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Di Giacomo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Very good. Used a 3.5lb 12 month old domestic rabbit and it was very tender. Used the crock pot method, and onion instead of shallot. I read a few reviews that said they doubled the gravy so I added am extra half recipe for it and it was way too much. So if you use the crock pot, stick to what is written. Very enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by knoxdogmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mmcsusn
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Been a while since I have cooked rabbit, not a common item here in the Baltimore area, this looked like an authentic recipe to me. I followed the recipe EXACTLY except I used Concord grape jam instead of Currant jelly. It was a huge hit! Don't leave out the lemon in the gravy! I did strain the gravy and work some of the pulp through a sieve to make a silkier gravy. A bed of chive spaetzle....some roasted brussel sprouts....a peppery Zinfandel and it's a perfect late night romantic dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmcsusn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I have been thinking of raising rabbits for meat, so I bought one at the grocery store for a test run. After tasting this, my husband is on board with my new venture! Minus one star because the white meat was a little dry after only an hour and I agree with some other reviewers that all that bacon is not necessary. Otherwise excellent flavour. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Superb!! "Cook!! Where's my hasenpfeffer!?!!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
This was my second time making this recipe. The first time was with a wild cottontail, and this time I used a a couple frier meat rabbits. It was a big hit both times, and the gravy over mashed potatoes is OUTSTANDING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
We loved this! Some words of wisdom - unless we catch our own rabbit next time, I think we'll sub in chicken thighs. Rabbit (at least the one we bought from D'Artagnan) tastes seriously JUST like chicken, but is a lot more expensive. That being said, this recipe is a real winner - didn't change a thing and we are still talking about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edgewater, Maryland, USA
Living In: Glen Arm, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I've made this several times and love it! I don't use ever use bouillon in anything though. it's sacrilege. Replace the cup of water and the bouillon with stock instead! This is especially good for wild rabbits which really need to be stewed. I do this recipe with cottontails, and I do it in a dutch oven. I put it in the oven for 2 full hours at 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Rich and Delicious! You'd pay quite a bit for this meal in a gourmet restaurant. Will leave the lemon juice out next time - would rather not have the tang of the lemon but this is a great recipe. My husband doesn't cook much but likes to make up special meals with the bounties of his latest hunt. This was delicious. We placed everything in the crockpot rather than cooking on top of the stove for an hour and a half. Meat fell off the bone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Oh my, this was AbSOLUTELY the the best thing I've eaten in many many weeks!!! My boyfriend started it while I was at work using some rabbit he'd gotten from a friend as a thank you for helping him slaughter 30 of them.. As others suggested, we substituted 1/3c finely diced onion for the shallot and seedless raspberry jam for the currant jelly (couldn't find any of either anywhere in town!). We also added a pound of fresh mushrooms. Otherwise, we followed the recipe as written and served it over mashed potatoes with a side of rosemary/honey glazed carrots & a fresh green salad. It was so good we nearly finished it off between the two of us IN ONE SITTING! Yum. Yum. Yum. Thank you for this recipe. I plan to make it again this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States