Hasenpfeffer (Rabbit Stew) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Amazing!!! This recipe was my first time cooking rabbit, Im in love with it now! I didnt have currant jelly so i used Cranberry sauce instead, still very delicious! I also used a cheap merlot for the wine part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi Thomas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dyberrah
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
This recipe is delicious! Followed instructions as closely as possible, except I couldn't find currant jelly (supposed to be red or black, I wonder?) so I added apple jelly instead; and I added 1/2 lb of sliced button mushrooms because we love them. Served with mashed potatoes, boiled carrots and steamed brussels sprouts. This was my first time cooking rabbit and only my second time eating it. The meat looks and tastes like chicken, LOL, so it was reminiscent of coq au vin. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Our favourite rabbit recipe to date. It's also very forgiving and flexible, as others have stated. We used lard and some smoke flavour in place of bacon (we had none), doubled the onions and tripled the garlic (we love those flavours), and homemade mixed berry jam in place of the currant (again, we had none). We served it on mashed potatoes and grilled dill and lemon carrots on the side. This meal pleased all of my picky toddlers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Di Giacomo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Very good. Used a 3.5lb 12 month old domestic rabbit and it was very tender. Used the crock pot method, and onion instead of shallot. I read a few reviews that said they doubled the gravy so I added am extra half recipe for it and it was way too much. So if you use the crock pot, stick to what is written. Very enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by knoxdogmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mmcsusn
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Been a while since I have cooked rabbit, not a common item here in the Baltimore area, this looked like an authentic recipe to me. I followed the recipe EXACTLY except I used Concord grape jam instead of Currant jelly. It was a huge hit! Don't leave out the lemon in the gravy! I did strain the gravy and work some of the pulp through a sieve to make a silkier gravy. A bed of chive spaetzle....some roasted brussel sprouts....a peppery Zinfandel and it's a perfect late night romantic dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmcsusn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I have been thinking of raising rabbits for meat, so I bought one at the grocery store for a test run. After tasting this, my husband is on board with my new venture! Minus one star because the white meat was a little dry after only an hour and I agree with some other reviewers that all that bacon is not necessary. Otherwise excellent flavour. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Superb!! "Cook!! Where's my hasenpfeffer!?!!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
This was my second time making this recipe. The first time was with a wild cottontail, and this time I used a a couple frier meat rabbits. It was a big hit both times, and the gravy over mashed potatoes is OUTSTANDING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
We loved this! Some words of wisdom - unless we catch our own rabbit next time, I think we'll sub in chicken thighs. Rabbit (at least the one we bought from D'Artagnan) tastes seriously JUST like chicken, but is a lot more expensive. That being said, this recipe is a real winner - didn't change a thing and we are still talking about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edgewater, Maryland, USA
Living In: Glen Arm, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I've made this several times and love it! I don't use ever use bouillon in anything though. it's sacrilege. Replace the cup of water and the bouillon with stock instead! This is especially good for wild rabbits which really need to be stewed. I do this recipe with cottontails, and I do it in a dutch oven. I put it in the oven for 2 full hours at 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States