Hasenpfeffer (Rabbit Stew) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Superb!! "Cook!! Where's my hasenpfeffer!?!!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
This was my second time making this recipe. The first time was with a wild cottontail, and this time I used a a couple frier meat rabbits. It was a big hit both times, and the gravy over mashed potatoes is OUTSTANDING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
We loved this! Some words of wisdom - unless we catch our own rabbit next time, I think we'll sub in chicken thighs. Rabbit (at least the one we bought from D'Artagnan) tastes seriously JUST like chicken, but is a lot more expensive. That being said, this recipe is a real winner - didn't change a thing and we are still talking about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edgewater, Maryland, USA
Living In: Glen Arm, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I've made this several times and love it! I don't use ever use bouillon in anything though. it's sacrilege. Replace the cup of water and the bouillon with stock instead! This is especially good for wild rabbits which really need to be stewed. I do this recipe with cottontails, and I do it in a dutch oven. I put it in the oven for 2 full hours at 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Rich and Delicious! You'd pay quite a bit for this meal in a gourmet restaurant. Will leave the lemon juice out next time - would rather not have the tang of the lemon but this is a great recipe. My husband doesn't cook much but likes to make up special meals with the bounties of his latest hunt. This was delicious. We placed everything in the crockpot rather than cooking on top of the stove for an hour and a half. Meat fell off the bone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Oh my, this was AbSOLUTELY the the best thing I've eaten in many many weeks!!! My boyfriend started it while I was at work using some rabbit he'd gotten from a friend as a thank you for helping him slaughter 30 of them.. As others suggested, we substituted 1/3c finely diced onion for the shallot and seedless raspberry jam for the currant jelly (couldn't find any of either anywhere in town!). We also added a pound of fresh mushrooms. Otherwise, we followed the recipe as written and served it over mashed potatoes with a side of rosemary/honey glazed carrots & a fresh green salad. It was so good we nearly finished it off between the two of us IN ONE SITTING! Yum. Yum. Yum. Thank you for this recipe. I plan to make it again this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Amaaaazing! I didn't have enough bacon fat to take out and put back in, but I don't think it mattered. I played and adjusted with the temperatures before the slow cook, and that helped because my stove was overcooking things and it got a bit smokey in here! In any case, I'd totally do this again, and serve to guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
This was my first time working with rabbit and I loved it! Used raspberry jelly instead of currant, onion instead of shallot, and beef bouillon instead of chicken. Oh no! I forgot the peppercorns! Anyway, good first experience and although it's labor-intensive by my standards I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Absolutely delicious! The first time we ever tried making rabbit stew and are we ever glad we chose this recipe. Thank you Lovesmurfs for sharing this one! I took some into work for 6 co-workers and they all enjoyed it as well. Will definetly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GailandDan
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This recipe was easy to follow. I changed up the recipe, I didn't have lemons for the gravy, so I added balsamic vinegar and a little whipping cream. The gravy was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Puerto Rican Codfish Stew

What's cooking in Allentown? Milly's authentic stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States