Hasenpfeffer (Rabbit Stew) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Robert and Theresa
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
Really good, easy recipe....will continue using this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
This was an awesome recipe! I could not believe how easy it was! All my kids enjoyed this recipe and I didn't even follow the recipe. I didnt have cut up pieces, so I used leg pieces of rabbit instead. 6 leg rabbits to be exact. I followed what the recipe called for except for shallots. I used white onion instead. Going on, I did what the recipe called for and followed it along again except for the lemon. I didnt use lemon in this recipe and didnt feel cheeted. So, if you are looking for an awesome recipe that calls for rabbit, this one is it! Loved this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Kahrl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Helga
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Made it for Valentines. Family loved it and it was easy! I also could not find Current Jelly so used grape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cabot, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Delicious and easy. As the ribs have little meat, I ommited them, and instead boiled them up with a few bay leaves to use as the water required for the recipe. I had a large amount of liquid left at the end of cooking the rabbits, so I used cornstarch and lemon juice to thicken the sauce without removing the rabbit. Would make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Amazing!!! This recipe was my first time cooking rabbit, Im in love with it now! I didnt have currant jelly so i used Cranberry sauce instead, still very delicious! I also used a cheap merlot for the wine part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi Thomas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dyberrah
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
This recipe is delicious! Followed instructions as closely as possible, except I couldn't find currant jelly (supposed to be red or black, I wonder?) so I added apple jelly instead; and I added 1/2 lb of sliced button mushrooms because we love them. Served with mashed potatoes, boiled carrots and steamed brussels sprouts. This was my first time cooking rabbit and only my second time eating it. The meat looks and tastes like chicken, LOL, so it was reminiscent of coq au vin. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Our favourite rabbit recipe to date. It's also very forgiving and flexible, as others have stated. We used lard and some smoke flavour in place of bacon (we had none), doubled the onions and tripled the garlic (we love those flavours), and homemade mixed berry jam in place of the currant (again, we had none). We served it on mashed potatoes and grilled dill and lemon carrots on the side. This meal pleased all of my picky toddlers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Di Giacomo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Very good. Used a 3.5lb 12 month old domestic rabbit and it was very tender. Used the crock pot method, and onion instead of shallot. I read a few reviews that said they doubled the gravy so I added am extra half recipe for it and it was way too much. So if you use the crock pot, stick to what is written. Very enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by knoxdogmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mmcsusn
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Been a while since I have cooked rabbit, not a common item here in the Baltimore area, this looked like an authentic recipe to me. I followed the recipe EXACTLY except I used Concord grape jam instead of Currant jelly. It was a huge hit! Don't leave out the lemon in the gravy! I did strain the gravy and work some of the pulp through a sieve to make a silkier gravy. A bed of chive spaetzle....some roasted brussel sprouts....a peppery Zinfandel and it's a perfect late night romantic dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmcsusn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States