Harvey's Moroccan Roast Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
Second time making this. I love it. i plan on making this once a week till we get tired of it. i brine the chicken overnight using the "savory brine" recipe so I skip the salt in the rub. I'm giving this recipe 4 stars because 1/8 teaspoon measurements for a whole chicken really bugged me. i rounded the spices to 1/4 teaspoons or whole teaspoons. I don't like how i have to mess up my grinder and blender just to get a chicken in the oven but it is worth it. The first time we cooked it for longer on a lower heat and that was delicious. I might try this rub with boneless chicken breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
this was very good.. i just mixed everything together and used it as a marinade for 4 chicken quarters.. only difference was using dried mint, garlic powder for fresh, and a little less salt 2 tsp.. we put this on the grill and loved the results.. i'm sure the potato/carrot mixture would have tasted awesome underneath.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kiem
Reviewed: May 31, 2014
I did it on the BBQ at low heat 275' for 1 hour 15 mins. I doubled to herbs and loaded it on to the bird with a brush every 15 mins. Was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I used fat free yogurt to make the spice paste, but did everything else according to recipe. We very much enjoyed this moist flavorful chicken with a very predominate lemon flavor. If I made again I would cut back on the juice to let the other flavor out a bit more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2014
Made this the other day - delicious, thank you! Served it with roast fennel, sweet potato, butternutsquash, peppers, garlic & shallots and cous cous with sultanas, apricots, toasted almonds and fresh mint and coriander (cilantro)mmmmmmm.....!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I loved it. The flavors were a wonderful balance; nothing overpowered. The lemon added a refreshing accent to the mixture of spices. I thought the chicken would be hot spicey, but not at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Excellent. we really enjoyed this recipe. Not a fan of mint or fennel I dropped that out and dropped the salt to 1 tsp. Put two stalks of celery in cavity with lemon to ensure moistness (it did!). Put halved onion and some whole garlic cloves in pan along with other veg. Took Tent off and raised heat to 400 for last 15 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauren

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Concord, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This was absolutely delicious, and the lemons inside the body combined with the foil tenting rendered the juiciest bird ever! I doubled all the spices since I was using an 8-lb bird, but the only change I made was to add turmeric to the mix. The vegetables soak up all the spices and are incredibly savory and satisfying. The next time I make this I will probably rub some of the spice mix under the skin before roasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Parkville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This was delicious! I ground all the spices fresh (I had whole of everything) after toasting them. I also tossed the potatoes and carrots in a bit of olive oil & salt to help with seasoning and browning. I also cranked the heat to 400 for the last 30 minutes to help with browning. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
This was fabulous...and easy too! I did get a little paranoid and poured about a cup of warm chicken broth over the bird half way through cooking as it looked like it was getting dry, but it was not, (broth did not ruin the recipe either). Next time I think that I will let the chicken marinade a bit for a fuller flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Roast Chicken with Rosemary

Watch how to make this Italian-inspired recipe.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States