Harvey Wallbanger Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I'd give this recipe 100 stars if I could. I DARE you to just eat one piece. My granny made this all the time and I came here looking for the recipe. WOW, there are not words to express how absolutely delish this cake is. I also made it as a "Lemon Poppyseed" cake; use Lemon Supreme cake mix, instant lemon pudding, and 1/2 C lemon juice and 1/2 cup water in place of the alcohol. Mix in a few table spoons of poppyseeds and make the glaze out of lemon juice, grated lemon peel and confectioners sugar. This cake ROCKS like you can't imagine. A real crowd pleaser. And as one other reviewer suggested, bake on 325 degrees for about 55 minutes and it turns out lighter and fluffier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pinole, California, USA
Living In: Florence, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I prefer the rum cake recipe on this site..but this one was still good. I doubled the glaze though for an extra soaked cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JILIBEAN2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This recipe is one that my grandmother and mother have made every Christmas. I'd skipped a few years but just made one and added slices of it to gift bags. It received rave reviews, one neighbor saying it should be 'illegal'. My recipe calls for orange cake mix, and I use French Vanilla pudding. It also calls for 3/4 c. orange juice and 'heaping' 1/4 c each Galliano and Vodka. Because I use a coated pan and my oven tends to be 'fast', I find this cake comes out lighter, fluffier and moister baked at 325 for 45 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
ok so you need a wonderful christmas type cake??? this is your recipe....My Grammy makes this cake every year, and now I am making it for the holidays, yummy thats all I can say!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
I have taken this cake to more than 5 parties over the past year. Each time I am asked for the recipe b/c it is so good. The plate leaves the party empty everytime. A real crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
I have made this cake on several occasions and get rave reviews every time. It is light and moist and truly tastes just like the drink!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
I wasn't sure what a tube pan was. I guess a bundt? Anyway, I made this cake for my sisters 21st birthday and it was incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
WOW, what a wonderful cake.. I made this for the 1st time about 2 months ago, then made it again, this past weekend, and my guest are still raving over it. It was a HUGE hit at our dinner party. A friend of mine has asked me to make this cake for her for her Christmas present. So I am making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CJ
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Yum! A great recipe. I opted to not add the glaze to make it less alcoholic, and because my grandmother's recipe I'm familiar didn't have a glaze (probably for the alcohol reason). Because I dropped that part of the recipe, I'm grading with a handicap, but it was still very, very good. Soft and moist, and very easy. A lovely after-dinner cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
I baked this cake months ago for a birthday. Everyone loved it! I had to look up the recipe because I received a special request to bake it again for another birthday. This time it's going in the favorites box!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States