Harvey Wallbanger Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by cookin4eight
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
great recipe! this cake is the most moist cake I have ever made. Though not kid/pregnancy friendly, it was a huge hit by our adult guest. I gave it a 4 because the glaze didn't really glaze, but more soaked into the cake. This wasn't an issue, because I think it contributed to the moistness, but I would have liked to have had a true glaze look on it, instead I just dusted with powdered suger. Will definately make again (when I'm not pregnant so I can enjoy too)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin4eight

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
This is always a hit with family and friends. The cake is so moist! Highly recommend you try it if you haven't already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
Very good--I used orange cake mix as well. I poured the glaze over it and let it soak in. After trying a slice, I decided to put more glaze over the cake. That put the flavor right over the top. I did omit the vodka from the second glaze. I think this is best refrigerated, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margaux

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
What a great recipe! Direct from 1978, and I still have the recipe tag from the Galliano bottle attached thereto! I turned this recipe over to the best local bakery and they are going to town with a full sheet cake and a full bottle of Galliano to float on top only this time they are sprinkling orange-colored coconut on top for my B'Day Bash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Love this recipe! My mom made it for our birthdays as kids in the 1970s (minus the alcohol in the glaze, of course)!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I made this cake for years with company expected for dinner and it would be gone before we sat down to eat. Recently I made it and accidentally added 5 rather than 4 oz of galliano to the batter along with 2 rather than 1 oz of vodka. It looked and tasted beautiful! Everyone loved it. I did use a bit more conf sugar in the glaze to make it a bit thicker. Absolutely Wonderful! Highly recommend this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I love this cake and it is always a hit. It tastes great by itself, but for special occasions I usually serve it with sliced strawberries and slightly sweetened and whipped cream. There is never any leftovers. Sue
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
Simply delicious love to bake it and share it with family and friends all through the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
How can you make it without the Alcohol?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NADINE
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
A HUGE HIT! This cake was moist and yummy. My mom used to make one similar when I was younger and I haven't had it in years. Since her recipe went missing - I decided to make this one for a party and was very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by livinginholland

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States