Harvey Wallbanger Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
I baked this cake months ago for a birthday. Everyone loved it! I had to look up the recipe because I received a special request to bake it again for another birthday. This time it's going in the favorites box!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
I read the previous reviews, and agree that although this is good, it is different from my mom's recipe that we enjoyed over forty years ago. I believe that the pudding called for back then was pistachio pudding. Thank you for the trip down memory lane.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
This is a great cake for an adult party! Try using an Orange Cake Mix, it really adds alittle more flavor. I also like to add a touch of Orange Zest to the Glaze. Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
So moist and full of flavor but I do have some suggestions. If you can find one, use an orange cake mix. Also, fluid ounces confuse me (are they the same as ounces?) so I used 1/2 cup galliano and 2 tablespoons of vodka in the cake. In the glaze, I did 1 tablespoon of oj, 1 of galliano and 1 teaspoon of vodka. When you're baking you already have the teaspoons out so it's much easier. Also, I do recommend adding the vodka because it gave something to the cake. You know how sometimes you sip a really good cocktail and the alcohol warms you? That's what happened when I took a bite. Wonderful. I highly recommend the cake with the changes I made. Also, for those who would like to try to make the drink, a bartender told me-take a juice glass (tall or short) and fill with ice. Add a shot of vodka, half a shot of galliano and fill to top with orange juice. Stir. You'll find it tastes just like the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
This cake was so good that I made quite a few and gave them as Christmas gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
I used orange vodka and was a bit heavy handed on that and the Galiano. I also put the excess glaze into the middle of the bundt cake and let it sit over night. The bottom of the cake absorbed most of the extra glaze and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
I make this cake quite often and it is a huge hit every time. It's very easy and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
very tasty.. I used an orange cake mix to add a bit more orange flavor...also added orange zest to cake and glaze. It was great! I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2005
I made this at the request of my brother and it was very tasty. I made extra glaze to drizzle over top when served. Everyone enjoyed it and I would make it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGEL5239

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winsted, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
I made this for Christmas 2004 (just as the recipe reads) - it was wonderful! The cake was very moist - I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OnlineMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States