Harvey Ham Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
Kids said they were really sweet. And if the kids think they are sweet, than they must be. Nobody ate much of it. These looked so good, too. I will try again and work on toning down the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marley_Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
This was delicious! I made this for Christmas dinner, and everyone loved it. I also cut back on the brown sugar. I used an 8.5 lb. ham, and used almost a pound of brown sugar. I just slowly added the brown sugar & kept stirring & tasting until it was sweet enough for us. It does take a while to shred, but its well worth it. We've had leftovers for days and still have some to freeze. This is a great dish for a crowd. I used Kaiser rolls, and topped it with horseradish mustard and banana peppers. Very good!! Everyone was asking for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amasue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
We liked these. I added the sugar to taste, and added some of the juices to keep it moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myboysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Loved this...what a delicious change up for regular ham sandwiches..will definitely make this for christmas or easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Even I couldn't screw this up. I made it for a trial run for Easter, ssshhh don't tell me it's November!! All my picky eaters loved this, agreed that my family will love this for Easter. I started making this right after I finished making brunch and just left it all day. I don't have a big enough crock pot for a 6lb ham, so I got a 4 and still had to cut it in half. I have enough left over for my daughter to bring some back to her dorm and my dad to have for lunches. I took another's advice and saved the bag and cardboard from both of my Kings Hawaiian buns for leftovers. These were good, right amount of sweet!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
So easy. Everyone loves it. I always cook extra h and save the extra meat for future recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Delicious. Next time I am going to try scaling back on the brown sugar. Also would have been good with coleslaw served on the top. We had it on Hawaiian rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Cut the sugar and place a dill pickle slice and a thin slice of pork for a great Cuban sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
This was absolutely delicious. The next time I go to a pitch-in, this is what I am taking. I was a little concerned that the amount of mustard would make too much bite, but not too worry. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Want to try this, but nobody mentioned the yellow mustard. Is it very strong in the taste? Some people just don't like mustard. I love it. Just wondered. It sounds great to me. Definitely will try a small ham to start with. Will not change it. Think the baked beans & potato salad sound really good with it. Have a granddaughter who will be turning 18 in March. Want to have them over for a Sunday afternoon get together. Thanks for all the good recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Baked Ham and Cheese Party Sandwiches

Try these game-day ready ham and cheese sliders.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States