Harvey Ham Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
This was delicious! I made this for Christmas dinner, and everyone loved it. I also cut back on the brown sugar. I used an 8.5 lb. ham, and used almost a pound of brown sugar. I just slowly added the brown sugar & kept stirring & tasting until it was sweet enough for us. It does take a while to shred, but its well worth it. We've had leftovers for days and still have some to freeze. This is a great dish for a crowd. I used Kaiser rolls, and topped it with horseradish mustard and banana peppers. Very good!! Everyone was asking for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amasue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
We liked these. I added the sugar to taste, and added some of the juices to keep it moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myboysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Key West, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Loved this...what a delicious change up for regular ham sandwiches..will definitely make this for christmas or easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Even I couldn't screw this up. I made it for a trial run for Easter, ssshhh don't tell me it's November!! All my picky eaters loved this, agreed that my family will love this for Easter. I started making this right after I finished making brunch and just left it all day. I don't have a big enough crock pot for a 6lb ham, so I got a 4 and still had to cut it in half. I have enough left over for my daughter to bring some back to her dorm and my dad to have for lunches. I took another's advice and saved the bag and cardboard from both of my Kings Hawaiian buns for leftovers. These were good, right amount of sweet!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
So easy. Everyone loves it. I always cook extra h and save the extra meat for future recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Delicious. Next time I am going to try scaling back on the brown sugar. Also would have been good with coleslaw served on the top. We had it on Hawaiian rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Cut the sugar and place a dill pickle slice and a thin slice of pork for a great Cuban sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
This was absolutely delicious. The next time I go to a pitch-in, this is what I am taking. I was a little concerned that the amount of mustard would make too much bite, but not too worry. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Want to try this, but nobody mentioned the yellow mustard. Is it very strong in the taste? Some people just don't like mustard. I love it. Just wondered. It sounds great to me. Definitely will try a small ham to start with. Will not change it. Think the baked beans & potato salad sound really good with it. Have a granddaughter who will be turning 18 in March. Want to have them over for a Sunday afternoon get together. Thanks for all the good recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I have tried this recipe before. I do not put water in the crock pot when I cook my ham. It makes its own juice while cooking. When it is done, after about 6 hours on low, I take it out and add my brown sugar and mustard. Shred the ham and put it back into the crock pot in your sauce. I use less brown sugar than this calls for and add the mustard to taste. This is always a hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches

Ham and melted Swiss combine with a tangy spread on soft party rolls.

Baked Ham and Cheese Party Sandwiches

Try these game-day ready ham and cheese sliders.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States