Harvested Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
Easy to prepare and lots of flavor. I cooked the onion, celery, and carrot in a bit of olive oil before adding the other ingredients. This was a comfort food for sure, it reminded me of my Grandma's vegetable soup, something I haven't had since before 2001 when she passed. Thank you so much for a great recipe and an easy weeknight dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
This recipe was excellent! My husband made me promise that I would make it all winter long. I did add paprika, onion & garlic powder and FLOUR to thicken it up and it was perfect. I followed certain reviews that said to use stewed tomatoes and I also added potatoes. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2003
This is FANTASTIC! Very filling, and very delicious. I added a half cup of instant brown rice, and a little paprika. This is the best soup I've ever had - I will DEFINITELY be making this again. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
This has a wonderful flavor, but I wouldn't call it a stew. I used cream of celery condensed soup instead of celery, to give it a thicker broth. Next time I will used diced canned tomatoes instead of whole. Overall, fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stormyseawitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Millbury, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
I just made this, it was so fantastic! I sauted the onions before hand, added the zucchini later than everything else, and cut up the tomatoes (next time I'll used pre-cut ones) but other than that I kept the recipe the same. It was great, I'm totally making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2001
I made this recipe on a camping trip with about 8 familes--about about 23 kids! It was easy to do on the campstoves and everyone--kids included--enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sze
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
i stirred in some sour cream just before serving to thicken it up a lil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
first try I found this a bit wet and dull .. okay for the boiled veggie type. Second try I added 1/2 tsp paprika; 1/2 tsp chili flakes; 4 cloves garlic; pinch of fresh thyme & pinch fresh rosemary. Reduced broth to 4 cups and added a bit of corn starch to thicken at the end. Served over cheddar tea biscuits .. awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
pretty good, i added a few extra veggies, but that's nothing new. Made extra and stored it in the freezer, which was great for a quick lunch a few weeks later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bhappe

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
This recipe is more like soup, then a stew recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States