Harvested Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Very tasty. I did saute the onions, celery and carrots in some olive oil first, as suggested. And I think it could use a touch more seasoning the next time I make it. I served it over white rice, and everyone had seconds and thirds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
This was great! Lots of veggies and the smell is wonderful. I thought it was just a little bland. I added a packet of Italian seasoning and thickened it with some sour cream at the end. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
But only 4 cups of chicken broth otherwise it would be soup and it still was pretty tasty soup. Added a diced potato,a bit of Italian Seasoning and paprika as per previous reviewers and the only NON FRESH veggie was the cup of frozen peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Very quick and very flavorful. Definitely one for our recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smacdonald
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
This is a basic recipe with lots of room for customizations. This is the first soup I ever made and it was a HIT! I omitted the celery, added mushrooms, baked the chicken breasts beforehand with roasted red pepper & garlic seasoning, and added a bay leaf, paprika, and Italian seasoning to the soup while it simmered. Overall - excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
We loved this :) I made some slight alterations. I used cut up chicken thighs (because its what I had), threw in some flour and condensed soup to thicken it and used 1 1/2 cans of stewed tomatoes instead of fresh. Thanks Sal! I don't even really like soup/stews and this was great! I'm sure it will be a regular for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
Good taste, 5 stars because SO easy. A great recipe to play around with. I look forward to trying it with potatoes or rice instead of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
My husband and I really enjoyed this recipe--it is definitely a soup not a stew. I only gave it 4 stars because I added a lot of spices to kick it up a notch. As written it would be too bland for us. It is really a great alternative to the normal chicken soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SavedByGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
As others have said, this was more like a soup than a stew but it was still quite nice. I like the base idea but next time I will change the vegetable to suit my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cricrinapoli

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Newington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This was great. Definitely more of a soup than a stew, but still great. I also added chickpeas - it worked out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States