Harvested Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
Easy to prepare and lots of flavor. I cooked the onion, celery, and carrot in a bit of olive oil before adding the other ingredients. This was a comfort food for sure, it reminded me of my Grandma's vegetable soup, something I haven't had since before 2001 when she passed. Thank you so much for a great recipe and an easy weeknight dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
This recipe was excellent! My husband made me promise that I would make it all winter long. I did add paprika, onion & garlic powder and FLOUR to thicken it up and it was perfect. I followed certain reviews that said to use stewed tomatoes and I also added potatoes. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2003
This is FANTASTIC! Very filling, and very delicious. I added a half cup of instant brown rice, and a little paprika. This is the best soup I've ever had - I will DEFINITELY be making this again. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
This has a wonderful flavor, but I wouldn't call it a stew. I used cream of celery condensed soup instead of celery, to give it a thicker broth. Next time I will used diced canned tomatoes instead of whole. Overall, fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stormyseawitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Millbury, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
I just made this, it was so fantastic! I sauted the onions before hand, added the zucchini later than everything else, and cut up the tomatoes (next time I'll used pre-cut ones) but other than that I kept the recipe the same. It was great, I'm totally making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2001
I made this recipe on a camping trip with about 8 familes--about about 23 kids! It was easy to do on the campstoves and everyone--kids included--enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sze
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
i stirred in some sour cream just before serving to thicken it up a lil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
first try I found this a bit wet and dull .. okay for the boiled veggie type. Second try I added 1/2 tsp paprika; 1/2 tsp chili flakes; 4 cloves garlic; pinch of fresh thyme & pinch fresh rosemary. Reduced broth to 4 cups and added a bit of corn starch to thicken at the end. Served over cheddar tea biscuits .. awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
pretty good, i added a few extra veggies, but that's nothing new. Made extra and stored it in the freezer, which was great for a quick lunch a few weeks later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bhappe

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
This recipe is more like soup, then a stew recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States