Harvested Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
A great soup/stew - healthy, filling. I added a little Orzo, paprika and sambal for a slight kick. Made plenty of extra and it is tasting even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Plainsong

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Its soooooo jummy and easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lübeck, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
very good, sauted everything first including raw chicken. added a roux to thicken. 4tbsp melted butter and 5 tbsp flour.Try it with any assortment of vegs. Used some homemade stock. Everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I have been making a version of this for easily 30 years. My version calls for stewed tomatoes, Italian seasoning & adding in some variety of small or thin pasta at the end. No peas, no zucchini. My definition of stew is thick; what I make is a soup. I do saute chicken & veggies in a bit of oil before adding tomatoes and broth just because I'm not crazy about boiled food. I made this version because I didn't have the stewed tomatoes on hand for mine. My family did not care for it. It is quick & easy, just really missed the stewed tomato flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
My Grandmother was a wonderful, willfull, and wild woman and I loved her dearly. she could make, as the saying goes in my family, "soup out of air" and it'd be delicious every time and maybe a tad different every time too, she never measured a thing, she used what she had on hand. and seasoning was last and considered by who was eating it! Spicy for this one, extra sage for that one, She was a wizard at the perfect meal! and this recipe reminds me of one of her soups, sometimes the simplest things are the best. I've noticed some reviews where the recipe was labled bland - all soups, in my opinion, need to start that way. Whats bland for one isnt bland for another. you know what you like and you know what you dont. if you're making a soup or stew that calls for basil - and you don't like basil, you don't put it in. This recipe allows for personal tastes to rule the stew so to speak and it's a perfectly balanced, delicious stew (over mashed potatoes! YUMMMMY) I add a bit of cajun seasoning, parsley and some black pepper...so good.. I think i'm going to go have a 'lil bit now! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
This is one of the easiest recipes and can be used as a chicken shepherd's pie with the addition of a mashed potato crust on top. Saute the veggies first and to thicken it a bit, you can add a jar of chicken gravy or a roux. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I made this but used boneless thighs as I believe there is MORE FLAVOR in the dark meat. Will a little corn starch next time to thicken up the juices. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Very good, I added paprika and next time I'm going to try rice. It is more of a soup than a stew and I used diced tomatoes as well. Will def make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Davis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
great!! I sauteed the chicken breast with emeril' s seasoning and fresh onion. I also reduced the broth to 3.5 cups and added a few dashes of worcestershire sauce and 2 minced garlic cloves-. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
I cooked the onions carrots and celery in some olive oil. Instead of the whole tomatoes I added one cup of diced tomatoes and one cup of diced tomatoes with mild green chili's. My husband loved it. Try it and enjoy, it is not hot! It was delicious, I have made it according to the recipe also and it was great also! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol C

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States