Harvested Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I loved this recipe. I changed very little (and really, just to suit my family's tastes, nothing drastic), but it is a bit watery. To solve that, either add some cream cheese or some Parmesan cheese. Either will thicken it up just the right amount and add an extra bit of flavor that complements this dish perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Really good! Most stew recipes are made with beef but too much beef is boring. Chicken stew adds creativity. I think it is the zucchini that makes it so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Centerville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Easy and lots and lots of flavor! Personal favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Five Boys One Mom so nota

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mitchell, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This is one of the BEST soups I've ever had!! The second time I made it I modified it a little to suit my taste: I sauteed the carrots, onion & celery in a little EVOO before adding 2 1/2 cups of chicken broth reserved from boiling the chicken breasts. I used 1 can of diced tomatoes and 1 (6oz.) can of tomato paste, to thicken it up a little bit. And I seasoned with 2 tsp. of dry Italian dressing mix, 1 1/2 tsp. coarse-ground black pepper, 1/2 tsp. salt. I added one more 16 oz. can of chicken broth. I used frozen corn & omitted the peas (they got a little mushy on the original version). I really enjoyed the quartered sliced zucchini (but would also try it with frozen green beans in place of the zucchini). REALLY TASTY! (I think the 2 tsp. of dry Italian ("Good Seasons") dressing mix was the flavor key to me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LouHoo in VA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Martinsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
We really didn't like this at all. The stew had no flavor to it no matter how I doctored it up. It was also more like a soup, than a stew. I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Very bland even after seasoning with salt, pepper, and garlic. Then added chicken bouillion cube, little better but not enough to have seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Opelika, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I absolutely loved this! I added Brown rice and it was yummy in my tummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I just made this and my husband and I really liked it and will make it again. I think there are many ways to change it and I will try all of them!! It is more like soup than stew but that was fine with us. It is easy to fix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
After I cooked the chicken, I put everything into the crock pot, along with 3/4 cup of white rice, and then put on high setting for an hour and ate it. We liked it-- I would make it again. Served with honey biscuts. DId not add zucchini or peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Love how quick this is to make. I added some spices so it wasn't so bland since I use vegetable broth. Definitely making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States