Harvest Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
After reading all the reviews I approached this recipe from a different angle. First I took 5 large yams, washed and dryed them and placed them on a cookie sheet and baked in a 350 degree oven for 45 minutes. I removed them and let them cool to touch. This made it so easy to remove the skin and slice into 2 inch rounds. I layered the rounds in a baking dish and poured the syrup over the rounds (I used dark Karo Syrup instead of maple), dusted with the nutmeg and cinnamon, also dusted with some brown sugar, and dotted with butter. I then added half a cup of water to the pan, not over the rounds. Covered with foil I baked in a 325 degree oven for 40 mintues. They were perfect!!! Remove the foil, spoon some of the syrup over the rounds and serve. Lots of compliments and requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
me and my sister in-law needed a simple and easy yan recipe for our thanksgiving recipe. We found this one and tried it. It tasted great. We baked it in the oven for about 45min. We didn't have any nutmeg so we left it out and also cut down on the syrup some with water. everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alliance, Ohio, USA
Living In: Franklin, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
My husband and I really enjoyed these yams. I did take others advise and nuked them prior to baking as well as increased my baking time and they came out great. I will fix again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
The end result was fine but don't try this recipe the day of your gathering. I got everything ready to go and 40 minutes before dinner time I placed the yams in the oven. 40 minutes later they were still hard as a rock. 60 minutes later you still couldn't insert a fork. Finally, they ended up cooking in the microwave. Worth the wait but don't count on the 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
Easy & good. My sister made this recipe when we were visiting: my husband requested it for Christmas dinner. I didn't have maple syrup, so I used corn syrup with maple extract. He said it tasted the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RueBarbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2004
Very good, I will make them again. I might cut down the butter though and maybe add some chicken broth instead. I also put the sweet potatoes in the microwave prior to cooking for 7 minutes so that the cooking time would be 30 min in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATWALK16

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
I fixed this easy recipe just 2 days ago for Christmas. The only thing I did different were that I put 1/2 cup of water in with the potatos and I sliced them 1 inch thick. My family loved the recipe. It sure will be a family favorite. It took about 45 minutes to get them all the way tender. Chef Suzie-Q!!!!!!!!! Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elon, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
so so good! Be careful not to overdo it with the maple syrup, it can get a little too sweet. I lay out the yam slices and then eyeball it, making sure I put a little on each one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
These yams tasted delicious. I had problems with the cooking instructions as well. After 45 minutes they were still hard as rocks. I had to reread the instructions to see if I was supposed to boil the yams first. I had to pop them into the microwave to finish cooking them. But still they tasted really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
The flavor was good on this one, but did anyone else have a problem with the cooking time? After 30 minutes, my yams were still rock hard - So I popped them into the microwave for 10 mintues to finish the cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Yams

See a quick and easy way to make sweet yam casserole.

Harvest Salad

A yummy salad to enjoy all year round.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States