Harvest Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
Easy & good. My sister made this recipe when we were visiting: my husband requested it for Christmas dinner. I didn't have maple syrup, so I used corn syrup with maple extract. He said it tasted the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RueBarbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2004
Very good, I will make them again. I might cut down the butter though and maybe add some chicken broth instead. I also put the sweet potatoes in the microwave prior to cooking for 7 minutes so that the cooking time would be 30 min in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATWALK16

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2001
Excellent, we like maple syrup but were afraid it would be too sweet, cut the syrup to 1/2 a cup and water the rest, taste was scrumptious, even the kids who are not big yams lovers, loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
I added some brown sugar. It was excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
I fixed this easy recipe just 2 days ago for Christmas. The only thing I did different were that I put 1/2 cup of water in with the potatos and I sliced them 1 inch thick. My family loved the recipe. It sure will be a family favorite. It took about 45 minutes to get them all the way tender. Chef Suzie-Q!!!!!!!!! Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elon, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
My husband and I really enjoyed these yams. I did take others advise and nuked them prior to baking as well as increased my baking time and they came out great. I will fix again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
me and my sister in-law needed a simple and easy yan recipe for our thanksgiving recipe. We found this one and tried it. It tasted great. We baked it in the oven for about 45min. We didn't have any nutmeg so we left it out and also cut down on the syrup some with water. everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alliance, Ohio, USA
Living In: Franklin, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
After reading all the reviews I approached this recipe from a different angle. First I took 5 large yams, washed and dryed them and placed them on a cookie sheet and baked in a 350 degree oven for 45 minutes. I removed them and let them cool to touch. This made it so easy to remove the skin and slice into 2 inch rounds. I layered the rounds in a baking dish and poured the syrup over the rounds (I used dark Karo Syrup instead of maple), dusted with the nutmeg and cinnamon, also dusted with some brown sugar, and dotted with butter. I then added half a cup of water to the pan, not over the rounds. Covered with foil I baked in a 325 degree oven for 40 mintues. They were perfect!!! Remove the foil, spoon some of the syrup over the rounds and serve. Lots of compliments and requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
I don't eat yams, so I cannot say personally how these turned out. However, my husband hasn't stopped talking about these yams! He's already asking me to make them next year for Thanksgiving and every year thereafter. I guess they were GREAT. I did read other reviews and planned ahead. I peeled and sliced the yams the night before, and stored in the fridge in a baggie(they maintain their quality well). Then the morning of Thanksgiving I steamed in the microwave for 8 1/2 minutes. At this point I proceeded to follow recipe as stated. It made it super easy, and fast, on a busy cooking day like Thanksgiving. Worth the time, just plan ahead. I also cut the syrup down to 1/2 cup as suggested by another reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Diamond Bar, California, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
Excellent! I am not a yam/potato fan and I wasn't sure how the maple syrup,nutmeg, cinnamon would taste with a first course but these were delicious. Make sure you use real maple syrup as artificial really would change the taste. Thanks for this fine recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Yams

See a quick and easy way to make sweet yam casserole.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States