Harvest Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
WOW! This is the best recipe for yams! I just mixed everthing together in a baking dish. I left the peels on and my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Delicious!! Everybody loved these on Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kopcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I made these for Christmas dinner and the family loved them. They were probably the most talked about dish of the meal. I did microwave the yams for about 8 minutes first and I added a little brown sugar. I was a bit worried about leaving the skin on, so I peeled some of them and left skin on a few and everyone said both ways tasted great.We will definitely make these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Hochstein

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I gave this recipe three stars since it would not be edible as written. Using the advice of other reviewers, I steamed the yams in the microwave for 8 minutes prior to preparing. After adding the other ingredients, I baked the dish for about 35 minutes. Even after pre-steaming and baking more than the suggested time, many pieces were still too hard to eat. I microwaved the yams an additional 3 minutes until most of the slices had a nice texture. The flavor was good and my husband, who doesn't usually enjoy non-traditional vegetable, enjoyed them. With the additional cooking, I would rate this recipe four stars. But until the author updates the directions, I cannot highly recommend Harvest Yams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taliarose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Ditto on increasing the cooking time. After I baked them in the oven for 25 minutes they were still hard so I microwaved them for about 6 minutes. Great taste though, and even my picky son ate them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monmouth, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
This tasted fantastic. It left a lot of juices in the pan, so I mashed up the yams and drizzled some of the juice on top.. yummy! I also put a little brown sugar on top (a few Tbl.) and cut the maple syrup down to 1/2 c. Next time I will use a little less butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I follow this basic recipes; however I try to make it a little healthier. I peel, cut into 1" chunks, cook in microwave w/ 2-3 T. of water for about 8 minutes, remove, add 1 T. of butter, and 2 T of maple syrup along with the spices, mix to coat, and then bake in the oven on 350 for 25 minutes; I check on them periodically and stir as necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
Excellent! I am not a yam/potato fan and I wasn't sure how the maple syrup,nutmeg, cinnamon would taste with a first course but these were delicious. Make sure you use real maple syrup as artificial really would change the taste. Thanks for this fine recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I had to cook them for about 50 mins before they were done. And I think they would have tasted better if cooked skin up so they could soak up more of the butter syrup mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Franklin, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Thansk to reviewers on the heads up about the cooking time! I nuked mine for 8 minutes first & then sliced them into spears & baked them. I was undecided as to whether I should peel the potatoes or not...in the end, I decided to try them unpeeled & am I ever glad. The peel added a nice bit of texture. These were really, really good...we'll have them over & over again. Thansk Iron Chef Suzi-Q!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Candied Yams

See a quick and easy way to make sweet yam casserole.

Harvest Salad

A yummy salad to enjoy all year round.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States