Harvest Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
These were so good! i usually just like butter and salt, so i used the flavorings sparingly and they did take alot longer to cook, i even added some water so they wouldn't dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I made some changes according to other reviews. I baked 8 small to medium sized yams at 400 until tender (around 45 minutes), than removed the skins before slicing into 3/4 - 1 inch rounds. I then laid them at an angle in a 9x13 pan. I drizzled 1/3 cup of melted coconut oil (couldn't use butter because of a dairy allergy in the family) over the yams and then sprinkled the cinnamon and freshly ground nutmeg over the top. Afterward, I drizzled 1/2 cup maple syrup over the top with a splash of water. I covered with foil and cooked at 350 for 30 minutes. It was excellent! I took it to a family gathering and everyone really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by halfnotes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I tried this on Thanksgiving and it was a hit!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayonne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Somerville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I made this with a slight difference, though sure it would be great the original way, but wanted a more traditional-looking turkey side-dish. Baked the yams in the oven, skin on until tender, (depends on the size of yam) at 350. Then when cooler, run under cold water and the skin slips right off. Slice into 1/4 inch discs, layer in pan, adding butter, nutmeg and cinnamon lightly to each layer. Add maple syrup, no brown sugar and a splash of water)Bake under foil ( I did this after removing my turkey from the oven to rest) bake another 30-40 minutes until heated through. Delicious (still good 3 days later haha, I made too much) This will be my standard yam recipe for Christmas from now on. Thanks for the delicious idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I took the "hint" from other reviews and microwaved my yams for 5 mins first. Then I cut thick rounds, cut those in 1/2, then tossed them with brown sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, and pecans. I left the skin on. Dumped it in a greased casserole dish, dotted it with chunks of real butter, covered, and baked for 30 mins at 350. Mashed them slightly with a potato masher and served. These were the best yams I have ever had!!! I had NO leftovers. Definitely making this again. And again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Even though these were good, they took WAY longer than 25 minutes to cook. They took more like 45 minutes to cook. I suggest cooking them longer than what the recipe states. And I did not have nutmeg, so I used ginger. They were pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
easy, attractive, and tastes great. There were no leftovers. I cut them into chunks rather than quarters and baked them in a glass pie plate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracey Davies

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
OK, so this is a hard rate for me... I peeled and chopped my sweet potatoes into rounds, and melted the butter, syrup and spices together in a sauce pan and poured it over the chunks. I cooked this for WELL over an hour, and they came out rock hard and I needed to microwave them for at least and extra 10 mins to soften them up. They were delish though. Next time I make these I'm going to peel and chop them MUCH smaller, maybe 1 inch squares, and see how that is? The flavor is there, the cooking directions suck though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
WOW! This is the best recipe for yams! I just mixed everthing together in a baking dish. I left the peels on and my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Delicious!! Everybody loved these on Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kopcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Yams

See a quick and easy way to make sweet yam casserole.

Harvest Salad

A yummy salad to enjoy all year round.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States