Harvest Vegan Nut Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2001
The Best Harvest vegan nut Roast ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2001
I was pleasantly surprised at how good this was. My 16 month old son loved it! Even my meat loving husband found it quite tasty. Next time I will add mushrooms and bell peppers. Mmmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2002
This is one of the worst things we have ever tasted. My husband may not ever forgive me for making this -- and both of us are vegetarian! After realizing that our dinner was inedible (after preparing it over a 2-hour time span), we ceremoniously scraped the loaf into a garbage bag and tossed it outside in the dumpster. Maybe now we can begin to heal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2002
I feared this recipe for a long time. Heather had been threatening to make it for several weeks, and each time I had been able to deflect her loaf-making frenzy. But finally, on a night when I was tired and disoriented, she convinced me to put my feet up and read while she made the vegan nut roast for dinner. After a few hours in the oven the nut roast emerged an altogether different loaf. By the time it was done, it was less a nut roast than a simmering nut stew. Heather took a bite, and I followed. I feined a smile for several seconds as I tried to ignore the flavor, but Heather rescued me with her angry admission that she hated it, and it was ok for me to hate it too. Forcing myself to swallow, I spilled out my hatred and said "I hate it. It's terrible and I never want it again," I scooped the wet loaf into a bag, where it sat, warm and disturbingly pliant to the touch. It hit the bottom of the dumpster with a thud and the unmistakable sound of thick nut roast escaping onto the floor. Now Heather and I are over the whole ordeal, although occassionally I wake up in a sweat, fearing I'll hear the sound of a mushy appendage squooshing against our window, begging us to give it a second chance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
Fantastic. I have served this to vegetarian friends who have raved, and to my meat-n-potatoes family who insist they have never had better. I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
Yikes! This was pretty awful. I was so excited to try it (and it smelled so good!), but it tasted like mushy cardboard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
Decent, not great. Doesn't cook at all on the inside - after cooking for 90 minutes, it was still mush inside. We spread it out in a 9x13 pan, which was better - got decently firm throughout. Not exactly sure what kind of consistency it was supposed to have, but this worked out OK. We added mushrooms and red peppers in place of one of the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Five stars with my spice ad-lib, but this was a good start. My first time making a nut roast, so I changed a few things after reading the other reviews, and the roast became a thing of beauty! Left out the bread crumbs because I was not sure they'd be acceptable to our visiting vegan. Added garlic, mushrooms and cashews, and changed the spice to hot curry powder (spicy hot Madras style), cumin and thyme. Because of the 'too soupy' comments, I used enough soy milk to bind, and cut the recipe sort of in half. I think you have to trust your cooking instincts when it 'feels' like the right texture. Totally vegan, and the carnivores were fighting over the small bit that was left!! Will make it very soon again, and even keep it vegan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cinekate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Very tasty! I used normal milk instead. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSECLAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Munich, Bayern, Germany
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
As a meat-eater, I have to say that this is not bad for vegan food. :-P Pretty easy to make, too. Plus, you can make it ahead of time and refrigerate until you want to bake it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by izfo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Harvest Vegan Nut Roast

See how to make a hearty vegan main dish.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Vegan Bean Taco Filling

See how to make a hearty, spicy bean filling for tacos and burritos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States