Harvest Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
I substituted olive oil for the walnut oil-tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2001
Nice salad! Although the description mentioned walnuts, they were not listed in the ingredients section nor the directions section, so you may want to write them in when you print out the recipe. To save time, you could substitute bottled Raspberry Vinaigrette dressing for the dressing listed here. They don't taste exactly the same, but close enough and certainly a time-saver for busy cooks. Very attractive salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Oh my! This is one fabulous salad! Not only is it pretty to look at, but it's chock full of wonderful flavors and textures. I added a little cooked crumbled bacon and for the dressing I subbed olive oil for the walnut oil. This was a nice mix of sweet and salty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2002
Oh my, what a salad. I could make a meal of this salad, has all of my favorite things. Next time, I may add some diced chicken and serve it as a main dish salad. Thank you so much for this salad!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2002
This is a very good salad. I like it because you can change ingredients around. I use apples instead of cranberries. I would also use rasp. jam WITHOUT the seeds. They get in the way when your eating. If the dressing seems to thick you can add more vinegar. I also switch the vinegar and oil depending on what is in my cupboard. I use a mix of sesame and olive oil, and regular vinegar if you are in a rush. Bleu Cheese is not very kid friendly, but I do serve with Carmelized walnuts. I have made this recipe at least 10 x now. Two Thumbs Up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Palma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
I made this salad for a potluck style dinner party and it was a hit! The only changes I made from the recipe was that I used mixed greens - with some nice bitter leaves (argula) - to contrast with the sweeter dressing. I didn't use dried cranberries and I prefer shallot to red onion. A favorite in regular rotation now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I recently made this salad for a work potluck and it was a huge hit! The blue cheese I used was quite strong, which gave it quite a kick. However, after being refrigerated for a couple of hours after it was tossed together it became quite overpowering. I would suggest using a milder blue cheese, or only tossing it together when you know it will be eaten right away. Thank you for this excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefsDaughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
This is one terrific salad! I love the home-made dressing, I did sub balsamic for the red wine vinegar and used veg oil. Only thing, I really don't care for the tomatoes with the craisins, so I left the fruit out this time. I also used toasted pine nuts in place of walnuts. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
Delicious, I used only two tablespoons of olive oil for the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
Wonderful! Didn't have time to brown the walnuts so used raw. I suggest waiting until moments before serving to toss with vinaigrette, otherwise spinach gets that heavy, wilted look. The bleu cheese and cranberries are an excellent combination. The gang loved this. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Cobb Salad

This classic main-dish salad stars eggs, crispy bacon, chicken, and avocadoes.

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States