Harvest Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
SOOO good!!! Even my salad hating bro-in-laws loved this!!! I can't believe I almost forgot to review this wonderful salad (tisk, tisk). I made this for both Christmas Eve and Christmas day dinner. Everyone who tried this couldn't believe how tasty it was. Admittedly, I did make one significant change that I believe MADE this. I added a 1/2 lb. of crumbled bacon to each salad. Because I was making this for a special occasion, I splurged for walnut oil. A local store sells flavored balsamics and EVOO's and their roasted walnut oil is TO DIE FOR!!! Other than adding bacon, my only other (minor) changes were tossing my avocado with a little lemon juice (to prevent browning), slicing my onion VERY thin (with a mandoline) and toasting my walnuts on the stovetop rather than in the oven (personal preference). If you are looking for a delicious, company worthy salad to serve at your next gathering, look no farther. This fits the bill perfectly! Thanks for sharing your recipe, Tiffany! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Easy and tasty. The dressing was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I have made this salad twice now and it is loved by all who try it. I do use olive oil for the dressing and 3 heaping tbsp. of raspberry jam. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
VERY DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I made this for my Christmas buffet table and it was attractive and very good as written. I couldn't find walnut oil so I substituted with olive oil and it was very good. I switched the blue cheese (which we dislike) for cubed feta (served on the side) because sadly our new daughter-in-law hates cheese. I was hoping for a Christmas miracle that the leftovers would be edible but of course they weren't but this is to be expected of a dressed salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine Smith Payne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This salad is amazing! I served it at a party that I was hosting and my guest loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Not sure why I haven't reviewed this salad before now because I have been making it for years. I leave out the blue cheese and use olive oil instead of walnut oil, but it is my all time favorite salad. I am addicted to spinach and this is my favorite way to eat it. Every time I make it for a crowd, I get tons of compliments. I also just make the dressing and keep in in my fridge for other uses. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Served this with Christmas Eve dinner. Everyone enjoyed it. Next time I would make it with out the tomato seemed to make the salad a bit mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
can i use strawberries in this salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 325) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Harvest Salad

A yummy salad to enjoy all year round.

Greek Salad I

Summer vegetables dressed in a tangy, refreshing vinaigrette.

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States