Harvest Rice Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This is the kind of thing you could eat just by itself. Healthy and perfect! Didn't change a thing with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Steubenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lyndhurst, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
this dish is absolutely delicious!!! everyone agrees. i made it with vegetable stock, basmati brown rice and Earth Balance buttery spread. makes an excellent vegan dish. i can't wait for everyone else to try it on Christmas day. yummmmmm!!! UPDATE: 21 for Christmas dinner. Rave reviews! I can't wait to warm up the leftovers. BTW, I made this dish a couple of days ahead. I warmed it in the oven. Came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
This is a really great dish that we serve every Thanksgiving. It is super easy to make and everyone is impressed by this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Very pretty dish!! I reduced the amount of onion as I think three would have been way too much. Hubby thought the almonds were a little overpowering so I'll cut those to half next time, or eliminate them altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I loved this dish but my husband hated it. He will eat just about anything at least once but he took one bite of this and wouldn't eat any more. However, if you love cranberries, mushrooms and almonds (as I do!), you'll probably like this rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I made the recipe as is except I did not add mushrooms. Also, I only used 1 1/2 onions (which I considered medium) and there were more onions than rice, which made it only 4 stars. I would add 1 medium onion or less and then reduce the amount of butter accordingly to caramelize them, and THEN this would be 5 stars because the rice would be the highlight, not the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SavedByGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This was really great! I liked this recipe because it wasn’t loaded with salt. I even used low sodium chicken broth, and there was still plenty of flavor. I used canned mushrooms (that’s all I had) and I used sliced almonds that I purchased already roasted and just tossed them in before serving the dish. I loved the crunch and chewiness of this dish and it went well with the lamb chops that I served. My daughter said, “This tastes like Thanksgiving!” This recipe will go into the regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Loved the flavor!! This is very yummy dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
Delish! I used one onion and sliced it thinly instead of cutting into wedges, I browned the almonds in the butter along with the veggies and I reduced the butter to a tablespoon - otherwise I followed the recipe to a "T". It went well with a roasted pork tenderloin and grilled asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GIBSOJO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Fabulous! I made the rice in my rice cooker but cooked everything else in a skillet and mixed it with the rice after it was done. Also, I used lemon zest instead of orange as that is what I had on hand. This was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SnowWhite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corona, California, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States