Harvest Rice Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I made this into a gluten free, dairy free side dish by using soy butter substitute. I also had run out of slivered almonds, so toasted up some pine nuts. It was great. Since the first time, I've also used toasted pumpkin seeds in place of almonds.. This dish can be varied in so many interesting ways by using different dried fruits... apricots, cherries, apples, dates ... wonderful recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
VERY good. The onions and cranberries are by far the best part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I like this, I would omit the cranberries next time, because it was too much going on. The taste was ordinary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCambodianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Onion size was too big.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This is a yummy dish, I make it every year at Thanksgiving and Christmas. I haven't changed it a bit it's perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I'm making this to bring to Thanksgiving, so just did a little taste test, and wow is it excellent. I doubled the recipe because we have a large family. The only things I didn't double were the sugar and the onions. I only used two onions, and that was perfect. I also added one cup dried cherries along with the cup of dried cranberries, and that combo was delicious. I would definitely make it that way again. I used portobellos for the mushrooms, and it gave the rice a nice, hearty flavor. We'll definitely make this again and again during the fall and winter seasons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Excellent recipe. I toasted the almonds in a frying pan instead of the oven and they came out fine. I chopped the onions instead of keeping them in wedges before caramelizing them for a more uniform distribution. Most importantly added cut up rotisserie chicken to make it a meal instead of a side dish. My 3 college age children loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
This is a good side dish, I liked it a lot, but didn't love it. I used rehydrated mushrooms (good), fresh cranberries in sugar (too tart), diced onions (good), added sausage (try pork, I used a chicken pesto). Recommend light on pepper, as it seemed to overwhelm with just a few grinds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Loved this! Toasting almonds was a great recommendation. I created too much orange zest by mistake and included about 50% more than the recipe which I wouldn't repeat. Next time I'll try with less butter (for health, not taste) and I think it will work. This dish was a hit with all and will definitely be repeated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Waterdown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
FANTASTIC! made this last night and the only problem with it was there wasn't enough! Great recipe, all my guests loved it. Only change I did was cut my onions smaller and only used 2 instead of 3. Will be making this again and again. 5 stars for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States