Harvest Rice Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
Meh. After reading the reviews I was very excited to bring this dish to a holiday gathering. I thought it was kind of bland (I followed the recipe exactly). My family apparently thought so, too, as I had about half the dish left afterwards! I probably won't make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
A lot of different flavours in this one! It's delicious!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
Changes: * no slivered almonds. used dried fruit & nut mix to replace almonds and cranberries. * used only brown rice, not wild * used chopped, not sliced onions * used olive oil, not butter * used canned mushrooms * used lemon juice, not orange zest
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
Expensive for a side dish. Good hot, not a fan of it reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
I really enjoyed this recipe-I didn't have any wild rice or oranges, so I just left them out. I also didn't measure the cranberries (which I chopped up tiny) or mushrooms...but I absolutely loved this--which I very rarely do without tweaking the recipe. The carmelized onions simply MAKE this recipe. I also followed another suggestion to toss in the almonds with the rice to make them more tender. Definite high five!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rolla, Missouri, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
First time I made this it was great- I used homemade organic chicken stock. The second time I made this I used College Inn chicken stock and it was pretty bad- If you make this use only the freshest ingredients and real stock and its wonderful- otherwise don't bother. (And I often used canned products this isn't just snobbery talking)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
At first, this side intimidated me a bit. I a boxed rice kinda girl. But the end result was amazing! It won out over the brandided steaks as the star of the dinner plate. It reminded me a bit of the rice that comes with Orange Sesame Chicken at some chain restaurants. Its a keeper! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Whittier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Kent, Maine, USA
Living In: Sanford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe.I found a packaged brown rice/wild rice combination and used that. Since I am vegetarian, I used vegetable broth. Because I thought the onion amount was vague, I went with 2 medium onions. I increased the mushrooms to 3/4 cup. I used tangerine zest instead of orange, because that is all I had. If you like these ingredients in general, I think you will love this recipe. The flavors come together so nicely. The only changes I will make next time is use less butter and more orange zest. It ended up being a bit too greasy for my tastes. But still worth 5 stars. I can't wait to try this next Thanksgiving or Christmas. UPDATE: I continue to make this dish with great success. I have cut back on the cranberries. I find I prefer it a little less sweet. Also, I do make this a day ahead and reheat. I find that if do not but the almonds in until you are going to reheat it, they will be crunchier. Just love this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2007
This was awsome. I followed the recipe exactly but next time I would reduce the amount of cranberries and almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandy Hook, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
This is just the best thing ever. I halved the cranberries and doubled the mushrooms. Thank goodness I scaled the recipe down because I finished it all in one sitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States