Harvest Rice Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
I've been making this for at least a year now & it's our very favorite rice dish. This week my son said, "Mom, this rice is bangin'" (His highest praise.) I use 1 cup uncooked white Basmati rice (which is nutty) to 1/2 cup wild rice. My wild rice calls for 65 minutes of cooking, and it's perfect. This week I substitued walnuts for almonds (almonds are better), and I've used dried, chopped dates instead of dried cranberries, but Kathy's combo of tastes & textures is the best (except that I've never had fresh mushrooms on the days I've made this recipe & I often forget the orange zest!) This is one of those forgiving recipes that is nearly impossible to ruin. This is my very first review...sorry it took so long to say "Thank You".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pattycake
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
This is another reicpe that I use frequently. I don't like the onion wedges in this though. I make the recipe just as written except that I sliver the onion wedges so that the onion is in short thin strips. This reduces the cooking time for the onions (20 minutes) considerably since more surface area of the onions are exposed. I also toast the almonds before using them. PLace the almond slivers on a baking sheet and pop into a preheated 350*F oven. Eacth them closely, they will burn if not tended to. Stir the almonds frequently til light brown. The toasted almonds make the dish taste deeper and nuttier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOMEKEEPER

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2000
I loved it!!!!!!!!!!! My mom soaked the cranberries in white wine and didn't use mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2001
Excellent!! Made it for a crowd of 15 and everyone enjoyed it. Was great with the crown roast of pork. A really pretty holiday side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2002
I didn't quite know what to expect with this recipe. I was pleasantly surprised....it was the perfect companion to my pork roast. I found two medium sized onions to be plenty.....I'm not sure I would have wanted another onion in it. I also didn't have any orange zest so I left it out. This was a nice change from regular rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
This was pretty good, but I had to take 2 tries with it; the first try I found the onions to be WAAAAAY too sweet so I cut down on the brown sugar for the second try. Also, I may be from Massachusetts, but even I thought the amount of cranberries was a little much. Other than that, I enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2002
Very delicious! I substituted the almonds for pine nuts and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Prairie Epicurian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Doughgirl8
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Terrific. I made it vegetarian (omitted chicken broth) and used it to stuff an acorn squash. Used sliced almonds, not slivered, and substituted currants for the dried cranberries because we were all out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doughgirl8

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2001
I made it with white rice and it came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Really great flavor! Followed recipe all the way ... worth the wait it takes to prepare. This is a keeper for future holiday dinners. It was a side dish with a honey mustard curry chicken dish (also from all recipes) both were super yummy. Much thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States