Harvest Rice Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Went over great even with the picky eaters. I skipped the mushrooms as I did not have any on hand and I did soak the cranberries in white wine which added a nice dimension to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
This recipe is so delicious! I make it just as written, except I chop the onion rather than leave it in strips. I also use a whole container of sliced mushrooms and chop them. The orange zest adds a nice zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skiski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This was a hit. I served this and some other (not so low-cal) items at a dinner party. This dish was cleaned out. The guests were really surprised that it was a low cal dish. I followed the recipe exactly as given.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This is the kind of thing you could eat just by itself. Healthy and perfect! Didn't change a thing with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Steubenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lyndhurst, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
this dish is absolutely delicious!!! everyone agrees. i made it with vegetable stock, basmati brown rice and Earth Balance buttery spread. makes an excellent vegan dish. i can't wait for everyone else to try it on Christmas day. yummmmmm!!! UPDATE: 21 for Christmas dinner. Rave reviews! I can't wait to warm up the leftovers. BTW, I made this dish a couple of days ahead. I warmed it in the oven. Came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
This is a really great dish that we serve every Thanksgiving. It is super easy to make and everyone is impressed by this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Very pretty dish!! I reduced the amount of onion as I think three would have been way too much. Hubby thought the almonds were a little overpowering so I'll cut those to half next time, or eliminate them altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I loved this dish but my husband hated it. He will eat just about anything at least once but he took one bite of this and wouldn't eat any more. However, if you love cranberries, mushrooms and almonds (as I do!), you'll probably like this rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
I made the recipe as is except I did not add mushrooms. Also, I only used 1 1/2 onions (which I considered medium) and there were more onions than rice, which made it only 4 stars. I would add 1 medium onion or less and then reduce the amount of butter accordingly to caramelize them, and THEN this would be 5 stars because the rice would be the highlight, not the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SavedByGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This was really great! I liked this recipe because it wasn’t loaded with salt. I even used low sodium chicken broth, and there was still plenty of flavor. I used canned mushrooms (that’s all I had) and I used sliced almonds that I purchased already roasted and just tossed them in before serving the dish. I loved the crunch and chewiness of this dish and it went well with the lamb chops that I served. My daughter said, “This tastes like Thanksgiving!” This recipe will go into the regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage and Rice Stuffed Acorn Squash

Roasted acorn squash stuffed with spicy sausage and leftover rice.

Lamb & Rice Stuffed Cabbage Rolls

See how to make sensational lamb-stuffed cabbage rolls.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States