Harvest Rice Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Enjoyed very much. Made exactly as written and maybe my onions were too big. I would only use 2 next time and 3/4 cup of cranberries. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This was delightful! Pretty much followed recipe except that I didn't have uncooked wild rice so I substituted with Uncle Ben's wild rice in the package. I also only used 2 onions, one finely diced and the other in slices just for different textures. I can tell you that I it didn't need 3 and I love onions! I also left out the orange zest just b/c I didn't have any. I served this with Marinated baked Pork Chops from this site along with green beans. I didn't find that it was too sweet as some other reviewers stated. Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klhskygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
THis was fantastic!! Approval from all who tried it (took it to work). Only changes I made (availability) were to use all white rice and chopped onion instead of wedges. A co-worker also suggested adding/substituting snap sugar peas. I also added cooked chicken cut into bite-size pieces at the same times as the cranberries and mushrooms (makes a meal rather than side dish). I'll try it with wild rice next time. Will make again and again. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
it looks very festive and pretty on the table. it was just too sweet for my taste, but i'm sure people who like cranberries and sweet flavors in their rice would love it. wasn't a hit at the party i took it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
This recipe was really really good! Some changes I made: I used white rice instead of brown, BUT i cooked the two rices seperately before I mixed them together so the white rice wouldnt take the colors of the wild rice. It gave the dish more color. (I tried it before cooking two rices together and it all looked purple...maybe we have a different type of wild rice in Israel.) I also diced the onions instead of having them in 1/2 inch wedges. The brown sugar was such an amazing addition. It was subtle and gave so much taste! I would add a little LESS orange zest just because it was overpowering the entire dish! GREAT overall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
LOVED this. Couldn't stay out of it after I made it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
My husband took second helpings of this dish. Poisitvely unheard of! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
While preparing this dish I had my doubts, in particular about sauteeing onion slices in butter and brown sugar (not a common thing to do in Scandinavia), but I faithfully followed the recipe and boy did it turn out! I fell in love after the first mouthful and am now sitting here stuffed to the gills after 2 platefuls! BTW instead of warming up the oven just for a handful of almonds, instead I sautéed them in the frying pan in a little oil and set them aside before starting on the onions. We didn't have any cranberries or orange zest, but already without those this was incredibly good. This is definitely going to be a regular dish in our household from now on! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatsPurr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I was a little unsure of the amount of onion for only 1 cup of rice so I just used one. It was fine but I will probably use 2 next time. I also sliced the onions thinly which I would do again. This dish was delicious!! The almonds, cranberries and orange zest gave it such a wonderful flavour. Looking forward to making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
This was excellent! The only thing I did different was cut the onions smaller because I don't like big onion chunks. But everything else was the same and it was great. Everything flowed together really well and just had a great flavor. This is a great fall dish that I will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States