Harvest Rice Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
This recipe was really really good! Some changes I made: I used white rice instead of brown, BUT i cooked the two rices seperately before I mixed them together so the white rice wouldnt take the colors of the wild rice. It gave the dish more color. (I tried it before cooking two rices together and it all looked purple...maybe we have a different type of wild rice in Israel.) I also diced the onions instead of having them in 1/2 inch wedges. The brown sugar was such an amazing addition. It was subtle and gave so much taste! I would add a little LESS orange zest just because it was overpowering the entire dish! GREAT overall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
LOVED this. Couldn't stay out of it after I made it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
My husband took second helpings of this dish. Poisitvely unheard of! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
While preparing this dish I had my doubts, in particular about sauteeing onion slices in butter and brown sugar (not a common thing to do in Scandinavia), but I faithfully followed the recipe and boy did it turn out! I fell in love after the first mouthful and am now sitting here stuffed to the gills after 2 platefuls! BTW instead of warming up the oven just for a handful of almonds, instead I sautéed them in the frying pan in a little oil and set them aside before starting on the onions. We didn't have any cranberries or orange zest, but already without those this was incredibly good. This is definitely going to be a regular dish in our household from now on! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatsPurr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I was a little unsure of the amount of onion for only 1 cup of rice so I just used one. It was fine but I will probably use 2 next time. I also sliced the onions thinly which I would do again. This dish was delicious!! The almonds, cranberries and orange zest gave it such a wonderful flavour. Looking forward to making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
This was excellent! The only thing I did different was cut the onions smaller because I don't like big onion chunks. But everything else was the same and it was great. Everything flowed together really well and just had a great flavor. This is a great fall dish that I will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Great flavor. Will be making this often. THANKS for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Absoutely loved this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Incredibly tasty, and healthy, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Yummy! Perfect recipe to give some flavor to that wild rice that I have. I used the zest of an entire orange. The almonds give it a nice crunch and the cranberry tartness is just right. I totally omitted the mushrooms and only used one onion which I diced. I also put more brown sugar in. I'd make this again.. maybe for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wales, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 213) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States